Simple is Beautiful with Christina Greve

Brenna Lutz
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
3 min readMay 30, 2020

Do you ever see a photograph and find yourself staring and memorizing every minor detail within the frame? If you haven’t, then you are missing out on an amazing, whole body experience that can put the world into a perspective you have never noticed or seen before. It is a feeling that cannot be beat and if you’re looking to experience it, then I recommend logging into Instagram right now and following Christina Greve.

Scrolling through the @christinagreve Instagram account is like entering another dimension. But it’s not one of those dimensions where everything is out of the ordinary and strange. It’s a clean-cut dimension that screams simplicity, calm colors, natural lighting and emulates that comforting feeling equivalent to enjoying a home cooked meal in your childhood home. Her posts are organized and all use the same vertical layout which helps to give the overall feeling of cleanliness. Most posts utilize calm colors, mainly white and then splashes of warm, soft pastels. Every few rows of pictures or so, though, we see a dark colored picture that throws in a splash of surprise to the eye.

What drew my attention to Christina and her photos is the overall simple, yet captivating creativity she uses. She heavily relies on natural lighting and the rule of thirds in each picture, which helps for viewer’s eyes to go right to the points of interest that she wants us to see and understand. I also really enjoy the different perspectives that we see throughout her page. Each photo has a unique perspective that always utilizes the colors of the main focus. Overall though, her photos are clean, concise and simply beautiful.

Photo Credit Given to Christina Greve (@christinagreve)

Moving forward with my own personal photography journey, I want to emulate her style and purpose. Not only are the details that make up and go into each picture have the ability to captivate everyone who looks at them, but I really love how you can just sense her personality through her pictures. You can just feel how genuine, sweet and passionate she is in each and every photo. It is so pure and amazing to just feel and sense this about her just from scrolling through her Instagram page.

I really admire this aspect of her photography and it is something that I wish to accomplish in my own work. She has inspired me to be true to myself throughout my photography journey in order to not only produce great work, but to create genuine works of art that scream my name and who I am.

Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

--

--