Sneaker Photo Experiment

Nazr El-Scari
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
1 min readJun 9, 2021

This week, our Mobile and Social Media Storytelling class set out to practice photography through basic still-life composition.

The biggest thing I learned in this assignment is that making a photo is so much harder than taking a picture.

Having to be intentional about what it looks like and how to set it up made me anxious. I am so indecisive when it comes to placement, background, lighting etc.

My goal for this experiment was to keep it simple but get creative. Most sneaker photos are taken of Deadstock (brand new) sneakers with no blemishes. However, I wanted to make a point in that there is beauty in worn sneakers for true sneakerheads.

It isn’t until you finally get them dirty and break them in that they are truly yours. These scuffs add character and personality to the once blank canvas. These sneakers are meant to be worn not stuck in metaphorical cages as trophies. Hopefully, my audience on Instagram can not only see it, but also feel it.

--

--