Applying Production Process to the Process of Guacamole

Using video recording, editing and audio to create a social video on making my famous guacamole and the takeaways I have learned from this.

Brenna Lutz
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJun 16, 2020

--

Every family has that one dish that everyone loves and asks for when they come over.

For my family, it’s my homemade guacamole, and I took advantage of this week’s assignment to make a social video about the steps and processes I use to make it.

I list the ingredients I use when I add each to the recipe, how much I use and how the guacamole changes through each step.

I then added a voice over detailing what I was doing and how to do it.

Absolutely loved making this how to video on my famous guacamole! Let me know what you all think of my first video production using audio and editing tools! 😊🥑🍽 #socialvideo #editing #guacamole #howto #voiceover #LUComm197

Through doing this, I quickly had to learn and become comfortable with Davinci Resolve, which was more of a challenge than I was expecting. It was definitely extremely overwhelming at first due to the many options and trying to learn what each setting or button meant, but after playing around with my video clips and sound for a few hours, I finally became comfortable enough to assemble my video.

I wound up having roughly about three different final drafts for this assignment because I was trying to incorporate as much as I learned throughout this week. In the end though, I wound up choosing the video that I was most proud of, despite the fact that I know I can do better, which brings me much excitement for the future.

Photo by Stepan Babanin on Unsplash

Overall, I struggled a bit with this assignment since it is so out of my usual, comfort zone when it comes to college courses, but I am always up for a good challenge.

I am surprisingly pleased with how my final product turned out, especially considering this is my first time constructing and editing my own video.

I have gained a lot of knowledge and feel more comfortable with editing, so I am looking forward to the coming weeks to watch and see my skills improve with creating and editing video.

--

--