Stop trying to get the perfect shot

Katie McNulty
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
1 min readJun 2, 2020

In my first still-life photography assignment, the advice I gave myself, I didn’t take.

I was trying to do too much with the reflector, and then I said to myself, “Katie, simple is better, stop trying to get the perfect shot.”

After taking my advice, I noticed that I wasn’t stressing, and I got some great captures. A key takeaway that I had: This is a lot harder than it looks.

Oftentimes people, myself included, think taking pictures is easy, but it’s not. It takes time, and you have to be patient.

In my multimedia storytelling class, we are learning still-life photography. Here is my first attempt at taking some pictures of a camera with my phone camera. #naturalight #stilllifephotography #stilllife #photography #reflection #journalism

--

--