There’s always room to learn and grow

In these last six weeks, I have learned a ton of information that I will keep forever when I go into the sports media world.

Katie McNulty
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
3 min readJun 28, 2020

--

Over the last six weeks, I have learned so much in this multimedia storytelling class.

Every time I sign up for a class, my goal is to get the most out of it so that it will help me for my future career in the sports media world. I can safely say that this class was a success and helped me.

Growing up, I always thought I wanted to be a sports broadcaster. After my internship this summer, I have started to question my future career as I may want to go into sports communications, since I’m liking it a lot.

Regardless of what route I choose, getting out of my comfort zone was one of the most important things I learned this summer. If I’m being honest, I was not always too fond of making videos. Before this class, I would have wanted to be the one in them instead of making them. But, after six weeks, it grew on me.

Photo by Neil Soni on Unsplash

It also helped me improve my writing, which I didn’t think it would. But I’ve learned that to have a good script, you should time out what you want to say, practice it and go from there. That’s something I didn’t know videographers did before. There’s a lot more that goes into making videos than I thought.

Storytelling will always mean everything to me. I truly believe everyone in this world has a story to tell, and you have to dig deep to find those amazing stories. You’ll have to think outside of the box, but once you do, then you can find some amazing people with great stories.

I also enjoyed this class because it was really interesting to learn how to do things through your phones, and I truly believe that multimedia storytelling will be here for many years to come since almost everyone has access to an iPhone.

I love being the voice for the voiceless, and no matter how many stories I write and tell, it never gets old. It sounds cliche, but there’s truly something special about it.

I wouldn’t call any of the videos I made perfect or portfolio material. But I truly have learned a lot, and one of the most things I’m proud of is becoming a little more creative and learning to go off of your script.

Oftentimes I would get so caught up in what was on the rubric, but I learned that it’s better to get creative and to keep shooting because you will find some of your best shots when you least expect it.

Overall this class was a huge success, and I will continue to practice and use these lessons to help me with my future career.

--

--