The Power of People, Hashtags and Keywords

Measuring social media growth and the impact in my communities

Brenna Lutz
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
3 min readJun 20, 2020

--

At the end of the month of May, I created a Twitter. I was clueless and felt overwhelmed entering a world where I knew little to nothing about.

But over the course of the past few weeks, I have dived deep into Twitter, learning how to engage and gain attention from specific communities and niches by tweeting about the right content, using specific hashtags and doing research on including keywords within my tweets.

Now, almost a month after creating my Twitter account, I am pleased with the results I have gained.

Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

Reviewing my Twitter analytics has shown me a great deal of information on my tweets and how they have earned my profile engagements, impressions and many other interesting highlights. What surprised me the most was my top follower is @diabetesalish who has over 16,400 followers, which is a lot when compared to my mere 28 followers.

Throughout the course of the past few weeks, one of the main communities that I tried to engage in was the Type 1 diabetes community. I followed several professionals in this field, research centers, national organizations who spread awareness and information, and the most active spokespeople for this disease. Not only did I tweet about my own personal experience with this disease, as well as retweeting articles and tweets that I related to, but I also quote retweeted several of the tweets that related to this specific topic and community.

One of the tweets that I quote retweeted was from @diabetesalich and I expressed my love and agreement with the photo she had shared. This then earned me a follow from her, as well as a reply. Due to her large following, this then resulted in 486 impressions and 13 engagements with my tweet. Not only did these numbers impress me, but this also wound up being my top tweet overall.

My second top tweet was also a tweet of mine that I quote retweeted that related to research being done through clinical trials in terms of reducing the health issues that type one diabetics go through. I quote retweeted the JDRF Research Twitter account and even got a like from them on my quote retweet. This then resulted in my tweet earning 329 impressions and six engagements.

Overall, since starting my Twitter account, I have earned 9,217 impressions and 183 profile visits. I was surprisingly pleased to see these numbers because I thought that they would be lower, but also after reviewing my analytics, I learned that they could have been higher.

Through analyzing the results and data Twitter gave me, I realized that I had very few people clicking the hashtags that I was using. Moving forward, I want to conduct more research on popular hashtags that can help bring more attention to my tweets and profile. I also want to actively tweet and engage more with other accounts and people. Looking back at my tweets and overall Twitter account, I believe that I could have had more impressions and profile clicks if I replied to more discussions going on within the communities I was engaging myself in.

In the end, though, I feel that as each week went by, I became more comfortable with Twitter, engaged more and gained more attention and impressions from others.

I am excited to see how I can influence my Twitter analytics moving forward so that I can improve them, therefore improving myself and the knowledge that I gain through social media.

--

--