How Twitter Analytics Changed the Way I Tweet

It turns out that our short, mindless Tweets actually mean more than we think.

Peter Burpee
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
3 min readJun 20, 2020

--

In early May when it came time to schedule summer classes, I was very curious and excited to be enrolled in my first communication class. Having never taken a course on material anywhere close to mobile and social media storytelling, I didn’t know what to expect.

One of the first assignments was to build a Twitter profile to share and engage with classmates and followers using the class hashtag. Over the past four or so weeks, I have enjoyed participating in discussions on the social media platform, responding with gifs, retweeting videos and sharing my own opinions.

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

For all users, big and small (myself included), Twitter provides data that can assist in planning a content strategy to maximize exposure and engagement. Through Twitter Analytics, the data provides valuable insight into one’s account, followers and the Twitter community as a whole. This information can be applied to create meaningful tweets and responses that will resonate with a desired audience. Such information includes insights on tweet impressions, engagements, mentions and follower growth.

After taking a look at my Twitter Analytics, I found a few interesting takeaways that I believe can help improve my presence on the platform.

To start, my most popular Tweet was centered around my Medium article on George Floyd and small businesses. This received 155 impressions, 11 total engagements and nine link clicks.

I think my use of the trending George Floyd and Black Lives Matter hashtags added to the exposure and increased the number of impressions and views of the article.

Along with this, my “at” of the Small Business Administration with a following of over a half a million also allowed for a larger scope to see the tweet without actually following me. In fact, I gained several followers after this tweet from those who follow the administration.

Another one of my popular tweets was a response to Lehigh University’s decision to allow students to return to campus in the fall. While it was short and simple, I think my use of the well-known Leonardo DiCaprio dancing gif provided for some light-hearted content that followers enjoyed. The tweet received six profile clicks, four likes and one reply.

While it only received one response, it came from Lehigh University’s profile which gave me several more followers. In fact, I received a couple of texts from friends telling me they saw that Lehigh mentioned me.

With these thoughts in mind, I believe I can improve these numbers by continuing to utilize relevant hashtags that are followed by a large number of individuals and companies on the platform.

Additionally, I think by responding to tweets from users with large audiences will gain more impressions and profile clicks, ultimately contributing to the possibility of gaining more followers.

To grow my profile, I aspire to be more active on the platform by joining in on trending topics and sharing content from other creators.

--

--