Simple Gains from (Re)Tweeting

The more a user tweets, the more engagement and visits they will have on their tweets and profiles.

Tara Sukumar
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJun 26, 2021

--

Photo by Myriam Jessier on Unsplash

When I first started tweeting for my communication class this summer, I was clueless on what to tweet about.

Unlike Instagram and Snapchat, Twitter is about building a timeline. While likes and comments are most important for an influencer on most other social media, retweeting can play a major role in Twitter for grabbing those important interactions.

As a newbie Twitter user, my analytics are all green. While there is an overall increase in my analytics, there isn’t a significant bump. My numbers are still low: three mentions, 2.4k total impressions and 19 followers.

A Twitter profile is something that is built over time. From Day 1 until now, my progress hasn’t been too bad, but it certainly could have been better with more tweets per day. With more tweets per day, my overall number of mentions, impressions and followers would have been higher.

The most important thing that I failed to do in the first couple of weeks was retweeting. As it turns out, my highest engagement and impressions were on a retweet of a photography post. I got a comment and a retweet from the profile’s post that I retweeted. This increased my number of impressions, profile visits and engagement on the tweet overall. Getting retweeted by a Twitter influencer benefited the analytics on my profile.

My tweets were initially mostly about my personal life. While that should be one aspect of a Twitter profile, it shouldn’t be all. Evidently, my impressions and profile visits increased once I started to tweet focusing on my intended major — marketing — and my interests, which include tennis and photography.

Once there was a focused story to tell, my profile made more sense to me and my viewers. Retweeting, as well as using the platform with purpose, certainly made the numbers on the analytics page a lot more appealing. Funny enough, retweeting a meme on Lorde’s new album had more engagement than tweets about my class and tennis.

My frequency and number of tweets per day were fairly consistent with one tweet a day initially. I didn’t keep my posts-per-day total low intentionally; the question of what to post had me struggling at first.

Once I created a digital marketing Twitter list for my class, I started having more content to tweet or retweet. Scrolling through the list every day led to an increase in my tweets per day.

While I still go without a single tweet per day at times, it certainly isn’t common. By balancing my personal tweets with tweets on my intended major, my analytics have better numbers due to the increased activity and engagement.

--

--