A word from our new Chair

Pep Sanz
Leicester LGBT Centre News
2 min readAug 14, 2017

Hi everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself at the first opportunity as the new Chair of the Board of Directors here at the Centre. Firstly, I’d like to thank and pay tribute to my predecessor Mark Beasley. Mark was a passionate, dedicated, hard-working and forward thinking Chair and I felt privileged to be his and the Centre’s Vice Chair.
Taking the step-up to be the Chair is, I confess, a little daunting but also hugely exciting and I’m very humbled by the confidence my fellow directors have placed in me.
It is a privilege to lead such a dedicated, knowledgeable, and professional team of directors, staff members and volunteers, who all work so hard to serve our communities across Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland.

As we head into our fifth decade of being on your side making us the longest continuously running centre of its kind in the country — we are committed and passionate as we’ve ever been to advocating for our communities and serving you to the very best of our abilities. To become Chair in the year we mark half-a-century since the partial decriminalisation of homosexuality in England and Wales reminds me both how far we’ve come, but also how far we’ve still got to go to ensure full and genuine equality for all of our communities, especially individuals who are transgender and non-binary. I look forward to meeting many of you at Leicester Pride and our up-coming AGM and hearing your thoughts and Feedback,

Best wishes,

Mathew Hulbert.

--

--

Pep Sanz
Leicester LGBT Centre News

Journalist // Communications & other stuff at Leicester LGBT Centre// Interested in #LGBTQI, #Earth, #People & #Books. Twitter @Pepm_Sanz / www.pepsanz.com