Ranking MCU Series

Nhyira M
Leisured Back
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2021

Ranking Marvel Series out of Agents of SHIELD, WandaVision, Inhumans, Runaways, Cloak & Dagger, Agent Carter and Daredevil.

7. Runaways

Holistically, it wasn’t a bad show, but some of the concepts didn’t make sense, such as one of the characters with the ability to glow, and emit that energy, basically the same as Captain Marvel — couldn’t they have come up with something a bit more different?Aside from this, it had little to no links to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, the only being, perhaps, the Darkhold.

6. Cloak & Dagger

This show, I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed, up until about halfway through the 2nd season and if it were not for the others shows on this list, it would’ve ranked higher. I thought it very cool how it ended up linking to Runaways, especially, and the storylines were great, as with the little things like symbolism.

5. Daredevil

Had I watched all seasons of this show, it may have achieved a higher position, but personally, I found it pretty dark compared to the rest of the MCU, and so did not make it past the 1st season and into the 2nd. This series also discouraged me from watching the other ‘Defenders’ Netflix Originals i.e. Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, etc…

4. Inhumans

I am very much aware of the fact that this show received basically all negative reviews, especially from those who’d read the comics and were going to hold the standards of it to the original, as one does, but as someone who isn’t exactly a comics person, but loves Marvel content, I absolutely enjoyed watching it, and believe it upheld Marvel standards well — maybe as I said because I didn’t anything to mark it against.

3. WandaVision

This newer show, focusing on one of the Avengers was extremely well written, in my opinion and well spread over 9 episodes. It links up much of the MCU together, and has a lot of potential for seasons to come, already having garnered high praise from Tom Holland.

2. Agents of SHIELD

Over 7 seasons, this series told many stories, linking to various corners of the MCU. It brought back a likable character from the first Avengers movie, and though it seemed he was going to be the main characters, the story was very nicely spread over his (Coulson’s) team. The only negatives I have for this are: 1. at some points, it seems conflicting plots were being told against ‘the SHIELD of the Avengers’. 2. In Season 6 and 7, there were only 13 episodes whilst the other seasons had almost double that. These shorter seasons worked nicely, with concise storytelling, as opposed to dragging it out and made them more enjoyable to watch.

  1. Agent Carter

Though it had low ratings and viewership, and so was eventually cut off after the second season, I believe it more than deserved more seasons. Hayley Atwell was phenomenal as Agent Peggy Carter, Cap’s love interest from CA: The First Avenger, and I enjoyed every second of it, and there was a large grin on my face when it was shown in Endgame Cap returning via the Time Machine to live his life with Peggy.

I loved the action, and how Peggy defied the ‘norms’ and odds, even when the men of the SSR (SHIELD’s predecessor) attempted to make her believe that the only reason she remained was because of her association with Cap, and not her own legitimacy and skill. Despite this, she shows time and time again that she deserves her position, more so than anyone else there, especially in the One-Shot where she takes on a ‘3–5 men’ task. Eventually, she founds the Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division, alongside Howard Stark (Tony’s father), who in turn, with Nick Fury at its head, found the Avengers Initiative in Captain Marvel, in the 1990s.

*******************************************************************

Thank you so much for reading this article.

Make sure to lemme know what you think about my rankings below in the comments.

--

--

Nhyira M
Leisured Back

Hey there! I’m Nhyira (Inshira), a Brit, who loves writing. So much so, I created my own blog called Leisured Back. Be sure to check out it in my publications!