T2CB: Chapter 1 — Part 1

Nhyira M
Leisured Back
Published in
3 min readOct 18, 2020

“And that is why you shouldn’t stay up till 3am each night, binge-watching whatever trash you watch. You never know when new instructions can come through,” I say to the young man standing before me. He nods cautiously, with exhaust-bags around his eyes, tired already, and heads to the small kitchen attached to the living room, no doubt to fill up on caffeine. I tut and begin to head back to my room, when I feel a tap on my shoulder, causing me to jump at least 3 feet, before spinning mid-air, with my feet in position for a kick.

“Chill, Jackie Chan! It’s only me.”

I settle down as I see Abbie’s face before me, in a mischievous smirk, her typical countenance, one that could an would only belong to her. So, I hadn’t been completely oblivious to my surroundings during my scolding of Jaimez — it would’ve been very embarrassing after all, if whilst I’d been ordering him about, I didn’t notice an intruder.

“So, what’s up with the ship-opening next month?” continuing in her Native Scottish accent.

“Hey, we’ve got Marcelo over there to focus on for now. News Flash: Just ’cause I’ve taught you to be organised all the time, does not, in fact, mean that everyone else will wake up at five-thirty daily, for a fitness routine, and pick things up as quickly as you may have done,” I respond, unintentionally allowing my slightly irritated look creep into my speech.

The ex-MI6 agents sighs before replying.

“Alright, whatever buzz-killer. What’s next, then? And is Jaimez staying here or coming with? If the next part is what I think it is, he should definitely stay.”

I sense someone watching me from behind, and wheel round to find Jaimez Marcelo staring at each of us in turn. My nerves are seriously getting the better of me today; I know for a fact that paranoia isn’t good, especially in the field. Wary, sure; paranoid, no.

“With all due respect, boss, how can I learn the bits & bobs,” poking a bit of fun at Abbie, “if I’m just gonna be secured down here, missing out on all the fun?”

“I have to say, J, your English is much better, but I can still hear the Italian accent,” Abbie shoots back at him.

I, being the responsible and respected on, roll my eyes at them both before continuing the prior conversation.

“Ok, so, before we get ahead of ourselves, let me just fill you all in on what’s up,” I say, joining in the fun buy mimicking Abbie’s Scottish accent. “I managed to get a favour in from Nathan, and we now have some classified intel on StingRay Org. Of course, it goes without saying, that we’re dealing with high-level operatives including ex-politicians, ex-military, ex-intelligence agents, the lot, all radicalised and brain-washed, then toughly-trained physically, as well as mentally. I’m just going to go over a few things, most of which you should remember from your Initial Training. Their beliefs will be deep-rooted, so whatever part you play, you need to watch your back — “

“Bring them in…,” chimes Abbie automatically, waiting for the finish.

“and give them a 2nd Chance,” Jaimez picks up.

End of Ch1:P1

--

--

Nhyira M
Leisured Back

Hey there! I’m Nhyira (Inshira), a Brit, who loves writing. So much so, I created my own blog called Leisured Back. Be sure to check out it in my publications!