T2CB: Prologue

Nhyira M
Leisured Back
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2020

“Alright, I’ll be honest: the CIA, BNI, MI6, SISMIS, etc… are simply no good. I would know because I’ve had experience in all of them; the America, Ghanaian, British and Italian Intelligence Agencies. I’ve been part of a few more, but those were only co-op missions, where they were simple needed. Ok, before you label me as too full of myself, I’ll start again.

So, you’d expect your typical Kumasi, Ghana senior school grad. to go on to uni, most probably Cape Vars., then go on from there to make their way into life, and so on, right? Well, not me, as you’ve probably guessed already. You see, I am pretty patriotic and all, but I’ve read and watched them all, and the situation where there’s a mole at any level of an intelligence agency always turns out to be bad news. So, at the age of 16 (how old my brother Joe Junior is now), 5 years ago, I set out my mission in life: to create an agency so secret, that only a select few in Interpol knew even whispers about it.

The base is a jet with cloaking ability, smaller versions attached and flying around, all of course bulletproof, fireproof, etc, etc… Had to take all the precautions of course, all paid for by joint funds from the UN, obviously from all member nations. But, prior, to this I needed experience, contacts, a solid reputation, and all that, so I did the transparent, obvious thing: I joined the Bureau of National Investigations aka the Ghanaian Intelligence Service.

From there, I was commended to a more senior position, travelled to the US, then to Britain, then Italy, all the while, going on missions, some of which were in cooperation with other countries, basically building a name for myself. I won’t lie to you: I’m quite proud of all my achievements that I’ve managed to complete by the age of 21. Especially, since there were quite a few life-and-death moments, and the typical treacherous feats you see in your average James Bond, Alex Rider and whatever. Compared to my background records of being a PE teacher, what I really did for a living was really as far as Earth is from Saturn. I’d hate to be in my parents’ or my brother’s position, having to tell family friends that I was working abroad, teaching fitness to 14-year-old, whilst picturing in their minds me being blown to bits.

In continuation, I’ve had a few months or so, at some of the world’s top agencies, and at 21, I have many years ahead of me, but not so many as a spy. I’ve chosen to open my own international place, an ever-moving base, but apart from that like any other agency…with another perk. At The 2nd Chance bureau, we believe that anyone and everyone deserves another chance. Maybe what we do is still morally debatable to some, but as of now, it’s the only way. Whilst the FBI lock up their criminals, we let ours go — not just like that though.

Anyhow, all the chair members here at t”Cb (shift, unshift, same, shift: T2CB), are females. Not a sexist thing really, but remember the S.H.I.E.L.D episode where Lorelei is able to bend the minds of men to her will? Well, that would be a disastrous situation, if any being foreign to Earth attained those abilities. Alright, the real reason is that scientifically, women are stronger than men mentally.

I passed on my idea of the T2CB to someone who definitely does not drink whisky all the time, or play the bagpipes. Abbie Addair, who I’d met during my time in MI6, had become one of my closest friends, along with Nathan Gomez, over at the CIA, but I hadn’t told him at first, since I wanted to establish the leadership first, with all females.

Well, that’s basically the main stuff,” I decided to finish with, as I noticed time going on.

--

--

Nhyira M
Leisured Back

Hey there! I’m Nhyira (Inshira), a Brit, who loves writing. So much so, I created my own blog called Leisured Back. Be sure to check out it in my publications!