The School Bell

Nhyira M
Leisured Back
Published in
7 min readApr 2, 2021

When the bell rings signalling the end of something, whether it’s the end of the school, term, whatever it may be, you don’t check the time at that point, wondering whether the alarm is correct or not. You just go with it. But if any of the students at St Catherine’s High had checked, they would’ve discovered that instead of the usual 3:30 that paired with the final alarm daily, all clocks and watches read, in fact 3pm. There were the attentive few, those labelled as ‘neeks’(nerd + geek), who noticed something…but it was too difficult to discern. This time, when the bell rang, it was different. Maybe it was just the lack of atmosphere that usually came along with the end of (an unusually hot) term. Customarily, there’d be a wave of restlessness amongst the air. Not this time though.

*************************************************************************************

Those sitting at my lunch table stared at me expectantly, evidently waiting for a response.

“Alright, fine, I’ll do it.”

I’d already decided as soon as I heard the dare that I’d do it, so I wouldn’t be named a wimp and that, but you know, for the sake of suspense, what’s necessary is necessary. I had lost a bet to Ocean, over the arm-wrestling match between Fabrizio and Marco, the 2 most-steroid-filled-looking guys in the year. Marco had eventually lost after mind-games from his opponent and a lot of stalemating. Now, for my payment, not the traditional cash, but a good old dare. There was no backing out now. Unless… an idea formed in my mind. There was no way the aforementioned dare could be rescheduled today, and if my vague plan worked, I wouldn’t have to go through with it.

“You’re crazy, Chuck” responded my best friend Kennedy, looking at me doubtfully.

I returned a hard look, which seemed to give her a bit of hope on my side.

To my complete lack of surprise, the dare I’d agreed to spread through all my peers like a Californian Wildfire, and it didn’t do anything in terms of aiding my nerves, however I tried as much as I could to concentrate on the algebraic work set before me during the remainder of the day, alongside chemical experiments, for the last period. I’m sure you’ve been there: where you know you’re ready to take part in something exhilarating, but you’ve got to get through your ordinary, tedious routine first. During Maths, I received various comments along the way of, “Godspeed, pal,” and “It was nice knowing you, I guess.”

Pfft. As if I’m about to die. The teachers probably wouldn’t even have noticed. But no matter. I had something else in mind. Indeed. I, Charles Andrew Miller, would get away with this.

“Pssst, hey, Kennedy,” I called over, whilst the teacher’s attention was diverted.

“What is it this time, Cam? I am not gonna come up with some lame excuse like last time and bail you outta this. You brought this upon yourself.”

“Honestly, Kenn, just stick with Charlie. I don’t need a name any more abbreviated than that. Honestly, the first letter of all my names? Who does that? Anyhow, I’m not asking you to bail me out. I have another plan because I’m already in enough trouble at home as it is. I don’t need attempt to burn down the science block added to my rec. So, all you gotta do is make a scene immediately after I ask to use the bathroom. If this works, you’ll get to go home early, so win-win,” I said, trying to call upon every skill from the Persuasive Writing Topic we’d done in English last term.

“Hold up: so, you want me to get sent home so you can do something stupid and crazy? Nuh-uh.”

“No, no. You won’t get sent home. Trust me. Just do something like, I don’t know, burst into tears suddenly. See? Simple,” I tried again.

“…fine. The things I do for you, Drew, “she reluctantly gave in.

“You da girl!” I replied triumphantly, grinning.

*************************************************************************************

Frankly, I wasn’t exactly looking forward to whatever stunt Charlie planned to pull. I’d been an accomplice to his pranks or whatever way too many times, but it was the last day of the term; I might as well give it a go to get home early and as usual he was vague about what I had to do. But I had some things in mind.

I grabbed my things and stuffed them into my bag, before following the rest of the student-herd out of the room.

My heart raced slightly as I thought over my rapidly formed plan. Something big enough to momentarily distract the teacher. Easy enough.

Entering the classroom, I made sure to stare long enough at the Ms Oceania standing at the front of the room, welcoming us in, to get to see me, and just as I sensed her turning her gaze towards me, I ducked down, ensuring I looked upset; that way whatever I chose to do.

“Kennedy, dear, are you alright? You look rather down in the dumps,” the clearly concerned teacher directed towards me.

I pretended I hadn’t heard, turning round to talk to Tumera behind me, who amiable as ever, was only too eager to engage in conversation with me. So, the situation had been set up. Now, timing.

As we all settled and the lesson began, everything was ordinary for a while. The typical balancing equations with all the note-taking — half of which I never remembered — and the usual experiments, the only highlight as well as being the only element that put Chemistry above the other sciences. About 10 minutes into the lesson, Charles looked over at me, catching my glance, before raising his hand and requesting to go to the bathroom. I had a vivid image of my lowest point ‘ready to go’, at the back of my mind, and immediately I brought the pain, the hurt, back to the forefront.

In that moment, I realised that instead of dealing with my parents’ divorce, and moving on, I’d just buried it all. And now here I was, letting the tears flow, not exactly quietly either. It wouldn’t exactly do much for my dignity, but in those few minutes where Ms Oceania abruptly ceased teaching and every face turned to stare at mine, dripping, I could simultaneously feel the burden going down with the waterfall. My method was not to talk to others but grieve quietly. And, boy, did it feel good.

The next few minutes passed into a blur, vaguely aware of walking to the nurses’ office and everyone trying to get answers from me. Somewhere in my mind wondering where Charlie had ended up. The most I could do was force a few incoherent words out. Gradually, the ache I’d had tormenting and burdening upon me, eased off and the eye-generated rainfall flowed it last.

No more than 5 minutes resting, tear-free on that bed you see in every school nurse room, the school bell sounded, bringing Nurse Dusket into the room, with it.

“Looks like it’s the end of the term for ya now. You’ll be alright at home over the summer, won’t ya? I know it’s hell, deary, I was in the same situation when I was slightly older than you, see. But if you need to let out your emotions, there’s that text and call ChildLine service, whichever you prefer.”

“Er, well thanks, Nurse Dusket, but I’m sure I’ll be fine,” trying to subtly get across the fact that I didn’t need any more pity. It was just a typical kid having a typical breakdown. Nothing to worry about.

“Well, that’s good to hear. Also, was it just me or was there something slightly different about the alarm. I mean, I’ve been here for the best part of 20 years, so I’m bound to notice something like that. Plus, the time’s quite a bit earlier than usual. Did they say they were planning to end it like this?”

I didn’t exactly recall an email concerning that, but then again, the most I did was scan over the subject lines. Vaguely nodding, I began to piece together the plot. I mean, Chuck had been gone for a while, and it had only been around 15ish minutes since he left the classroom. Meanwhile, the nurse continued her friendly, breathless chatter.

“Clearly, they forgot to notify me. On second thoughts, maybe my hearing’s just going with regards to the alarm difference. And at least I’ll get home in time to watch ‘Who wants to be a Millionaire?’, and -”

“If it’s alright with you, ma’am I’ll be going now. Gotta catch the bus you know,” I interrupted.

“Alright then, well, have a good summer!”

I shuffled out quickly, making sure to avoid any more conversation, and entered the corridors into a rush of restless students, eager to get away for the six-week break. Meanwhile, Charles came down to meet me, grinning.

“So, it worked, did it?”

“It worked.”

*************************************************************************************

“Alright, fine, I’ll do it.”

*************************************************************************************

“So, it worked, did it?”

“It worked.”

Originally published at https://www.leisuredback.com on April 2, 2021.

--

--

Nhyira M
Leisured Back

Hey there! I’m Nhyira (Inshira), a Brit, who loves writing. So much so, I created my own blog called Leisured Back. Be sure to check out it in my publications!