Why all the hate for Justin Bieber?

Nhyira M
Leisured Back
Published in
3 min readMay 13, 2021

Of course, I can’t tell his story properly or defend any of the more less-positive actions, but from having watched many of his documentaries:

Imagine you’re a 13-year-old, who loves music. You play the drums, guitar, piano…. You can make your way around a large variety of instruments. And you also have a talent with your voice box. One day, your mum decides to upload a video of you singing to YouTube. To your surprise, it garners many views, and so you continue to upload to your channel ‘KidRauhl’, becoming an Internet sensation. Not long after, a music manager, Scooter Braun, along with Usher, a maestro of the RnB world, contact you, having discovered your videos.

A year or two later, you’re a teen idol, having scored a hit at just 15, and you’ve got tons of fans globally. But, with this newfound fame and stardom comes pressure — non-stop touring is a huge part of this career that’s found you. And over the next few years, you turn to drugs to help you cope, and end up having a few run-ins with cops, even eventually being arrested for DUI. Meanwhile, whilst you do have a lot of love and support, there are those who show hate towards you. One of your music videos becomes the most disliked on YouTube, the platform that first brought you to people’s attention.

Moving out of your teens and onward, you turn things around, becoming a Christian and a person of faith, leaving your troubled few years behind you. Despite this, many continue to criticise you, writing toxic comments regularly.

The person I’m talking about is, of course, Justin Bieber, and much of his story, as I said earlier, can be found in his documentaries.

Now, one thing I don’t get is how people can hate on celebs they don’t know personally. I mean, you may know of them and maybe dislike what they do/produce, but chances are, you don’t actually know what makes them, them, and their traits and personality. I remember watching a video on YouTube where Justin was rapping Lose Yourself and Cleanin’ Out my Closet, and someone with clearly nothing better to claimed he wasn’t ‘worthy to rap Eminem’. I mean, ‘being worthy’ is generally relative anyway — unless you’re talking about Mjolnir, of course — so what does that even mean?

Sure, he’s had his troubled years, but so do many of us. We hit lows in our lives, at one point or another. And as far as I can tell, Bieber is a much more matured man than he might’ve bee when he was at, say, 18. But all humans mature as they grow. And even when he wasn’t in the best situations, that doesn’t give people the right to show toxicity towards him. It’s as they say, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.”

I think sometimes we forget that celebs are just humans who happen to have a career in something that’s made them a bit more well-known than ‘average’. They have still emotions. They make good decisions and bad ones. They eat, sleep and poop.

And if you are a ‘Justin-hater’, well I have 2 things to say: either it’s really just his music you don’t enjoy or you are a netizen with nothing better to do than spread hate.

If it is about his music, I respect that, though I enjoy it personally, but me saying I dislike Taylor Swift’s music, for example, doesn’t mean I dislike her as a person.

*******************************************************************

Thank you so much for reading my post, and I hope you enjoyed it!!

--

--

Nhyira M
Leisured Back

Hey there! I’m Nhyira (Inshira), a Brit, who loves writing. So much so, I created my own blog called Leisured Back. Be sure to check out it in my publications!