The Creative Essentials of Richard Goldsmith, Director of Digital and Content Strategy

Giant robots, a jug of cold brew and a Willie Nelson doll are just a few of the items that are essential to his creativity at the office

Leo Burnett
35 West Wacker
Published in
3 min readOct 18, 2017

--

Not everyone can say they have a giant fighting robot perched on their desk, but Richard Goldsmith, director of digital and content strategy, can.

His affinity for all things robotics comes from his passion for technology. As someone who started his career in programming and has more than 15 years digital marketing experience, Richard is always thinking of new ways to leverage the latest and greatest technology platforms for his clients.

Let’s learn a little more about what keeps Richard inspired at work (and where that Willie Nelson doll came from).

Chocolate City Cold Brew
I’m not a morning person. I’m just not. So if I have to be awake in one of the unspeakable hours before 10 a.m., I want quality stimulants. Chicago-based Dark Matter does the trick. You’d be amazed how fast you can run through a jug of cold brew, though.

Star Wars Moleskin
I doubt anyone here who knows me is surprised to see a moleskin with Darth Vader on the cover. I like to be surrounded with things I love and get excited about, and “Star Wars” is definitely one of those things. Taking notes/drawing out UX/building slide decks is just a little more fun when you can flip through the pages and see a Sith Lord.

Cozmo and his cubes
The increasing sophistication of AI and its commercial applications is spectacularly fascinating, at least to me. So my wife gave me this little robot that’s powered by a rudimentary AI. Every few days I power him up and spend a few minutes or so futzing around with teaching him new skills and playing games with him. He’s like a little WALL-E, which is pretty great in and of itself. But what he represents is even better. I’ve been playing with computers and the internet for nearly 30 years and the pace of change in the space in the last few years is like nothing I’ve seen before. I love how fast the tools we have on hand to create something new are moving now.

Atlas Titan
Giant robots are awesome. Especially giant fighting robots. I got my start in programming and digital because I loved video games, so being able to look up from my desk to see a replica of one of my favorite mechs from a great game is a pretty solid reminder that I’m doing something I never imagined I’d be paid to do. So much for that journalism degree.

Willie Nelson
I work under the watchful eye of Willie Nelson. He was originally created for an ad and has watched me work for almost 20 years now. My desk wouldn’t feel right without him, no matter how creepy people think he looks.

Bourbon
Do I really need to explain this one? Didn’t think so.

Originally published at leoburnett.us.

--

--

Leo Burnett
35 West Wacker

Leo Burnett Worldwide believes in using creativity to drive dynamic business change for its clients, which include many of the world’s most valued brands.