Resident Evil 3 Remake: Reliving Memories

Leonardo Ito
Leonardo Ito
Published in
3 min readApr 3, 2022

Personally, there’s one frustrating part to being a gamer these days. When I was younger, I was fine with playing games like Resident Evil and Silent Hill. Not completely fine with it, but… fine, you know? Fast forward 20 something years and any glimpse of courage has gone away with age. These days the thought of playing anything labeled as horror terrifies me.

And what frustrates me about that is that I still very much enjoy these franchises I grew up with. It could be the nostalgia and I’m sure it has a lot to do with it, but I still enjoy the gameplay loop. However, given how much more immersive and realistic a lot of these franchises have become, it’s a lot more difficult for me to have what it takes to play it.

Resident Evil 3 has always been my favorite in the series and also one of the only two Resident Evil games I’ve ever beaten with Resident Evil 2 being the other one. Unlike Resident Evil 2 Remake where I was paralyzed right at the beginning when you’re supposed to get into the gas station convenience store, I felt more “comfortable — as comfortable as one could be anyways — playing Resident Evil 3 and I guess it has to do with how much more open and less claustrophobic it is compared to Resident Evil 2. Will I be able to play through the entire game when it comes out? Who knows, but the demo definitely gave me hope that I may able to endure this one.

It goes without saying the remakes to Resident Evil 2 and 3 look as gorgeous as ever, but Resident Evil 3 Remake pushes things even further. Models are very detailed and the environments have a lot going on while staying incredibly moody. Also, there are tons of references to old Capcom games in the posters you find scattered across the city in this very brief demo. I can only imagine how much more we’ll be able to find when the full game comes out in a few weeks time.

--

--

Leonardo Ito
Leonardo Ito

Comic book colorist, crazy about racing games and Japanese culture lover. Also, currently in love with otters. www.leonardoito.com