GSoC 2020: One more week left in the community bonding period

Rajitha Warusavitarana
Leopards Lab
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2020

In the previous article, I gave an introduction to the Node Cloud project and then I explained how I integrated the Google Cloud AutoML service to the Node Cloud GCP plugin. In this article, I will give you an update about the third week of the community bonding period. In this week I was integrating the Elastic Kubernetes service to the Node Cloud AWS plugin. Kubernetes is an open-source system that helps in the process of automatic deployment, scaling, and managing containerized applications. EKS is an Amazon offering that helps in running Kubernetes instances over multiple Availability Zones which also makes sure that they are highly available. In addition to the EKS integration in Node Cloud, I wrote some examples which illustrate how to use the Node Cloud Kubernetes module in a NodeJS application. After completing the EKS integration and the relevant examples I opened the pull requests and my work is ready for review :)

On Saturday (23/05/2020) I had a meeting with my mentors via Google meet and discussed about the work that I have carried out, the blockers I had and the plans for the next week. we also agreed to have weekly sync ups every Saturday morning and scheduled the meetings in the Google calendar. The final week of the community bonding period starts tomorrow and since I am familiar with the codebase and the project architecture mentors suggested me to the start with the implementation early. Currently, I am in the process of integrating another service in the Node Cloud AWS plugin and I will let you know about it in my next article.

See you again in the next week with more updates about the Node Cloud project.

Good Bye…

--

--