Are You in Transition or Transformation?

Leslie Cottrell Simonds
Leslie Cottrell Simonds
3 min readMay 31, 2019

I say, why not both?

I believe in transparency, and if I am to be completely transparent, I have been in both a state of transition and transformation for almost three years.

When I became ill in the summer of 2016, I was physically and neurologically not able to accomplish the same things I was used to doing.

When we undergo a physical shock like a heart attack, our body naturally sends blood to only our major organs to make sure they remain oxygenated. Non-essential parts of our body can be starved of blood flow and oxygen temporarily.

This is what happened to me when I became ill.

For me, it meant doing only the most necessary tasks in any given day as opposed to my former lifestyle motto, Do it ALL, NOW!

The first gift to emerge during this time was an awareness that I was being forced to slow down physically and mentally to open space for an opportunity for transformation.

I liked that first glimpse of possibility and wanted to go deeper with it.

It wasn’t all pretty, and it wasn’t comfortable, but as I looked at the patterns of my life I saw that my pull to “Do it ALL, NOW!” was a wall that I had created to shelter me from the scary unknown. It was safe when I was busy because there was no time or space to fit in a spiritual self-discovery.

That transformation was the one thing my soul was clamoring for, and I denied it for decades. A spiritual self-discovery was my scary unknown.

I knew that it would mean turning away from almost everything I had been raised to believe in as a child of a mainstream, conservative Christian home. It felt selfish and disloyal on many levels. And hey… I was the good kid!

I made an intentional choice to find out who I was. I was almost 60 years old and still wasn’t sure who was living inside the body I saw in the mirror.

And so, my transition became my transformation.

Is my transition complete? No, and neither is my transformation. That’s a delicious concept. I don’t subscribe to the popular belief that we are going to evolve into a 5d consciousness and then we will have “arrived.” I believe that we will continue to stretch and grow and evolve for as long as we allow ourselves the freedom to do so.

I had a great conversation recently with a woman that I didn’t know. She asked me what I do for a living and since I’ve never perfected my “elevator pitch” she got the long version.

Her response was, “I’ve been on a nonstop transition for the past twenty years. From divorce; to the death of a parent, to children moving out, to illness, it has been one season of transition after another. I feel exhausted and without a rudder.”

Her words could have been me just a few years ago.

When she asked me how to start learning something from the chaos of life, this was my response:

Think of every spot you are in as your most sacred space. Whether it is in your kitchen, a coffee shop, garden, or standing in line at the grocery store, know that you are in a sacred space for that moment. There are many rituals for creating sacred space, but; you can at your soul level, kiss the ground you are standing on as you connect to and honor the earth and this moment in time.”

When we do this, we immediately slow down our pace. We become intentional in our human experience. After all, we each decided to be on this planet during this point in time. Intentionality is the core of all personal spiritual practice and I think this is the quickest way to connect with that. It’s a wonderful starting point, and from there all things are possible.

May you, in this day, find yourself honoring the sacred space you are in.

If you’d like to continue the conversation, please email leslie@thevisionarypassage.com

--

--