Thank you.

Mary Catherine Treuting
Less Cancer Journal
2 min readFeb 13, 2020

Thank you to the Next Generation Choices Foundation. Thank you to the people before me who are changing the fight on cancer.

I grew up in a generation that was solely focused on finding the cure for cancer. In school, I was taught to raise money to beat cancer, a disease that was not unknown to my family. I was motivated and passionate, but never once thought how we could rid of cancer in the first place.

Seven years ago, I sat in the audience at my first National Cancer Prevention Workshop. Completely unknowing of my lingering involvement with this foundation, I learned that there is no limitation on the research and advocacy that can be done to prevent cancer. You don’t have to be a world-renowned scientist, work at the largest law firm, or a state representative to have the one thing needed to change conversation on cancer. You just need passion. Passion to make a change.

So to all those who presented, thank you. Your passion, regardless of your field, empowers and inspires younger generations to take the future of cancer prevention into our hands. Your work will leave an impact on a high school or college aged student who attended the Workshop, and their spark will be ignited by your flame.

Continue your work, continue to educate, continue to prevent.

Thank you.

#LessCancer #NationalCancerPreventionWorkshop #NextGeneration

--

--