The Wisdom of Procrastination a.k.a. Divine Timing

Ellen Friedman
Less Stress More Success
3 min readMar 2, 2022

The idea of the wisdom of procrastination came to my mind long ago. I can’t even recall how many months or it’s possibly been a few years. Something inside told me there was more to see and experience before writing. Gratitude to my friends and clients who shared three conversations in three days around the idea of procrastination. My inner guidance let me know that it was time to sit down and see what words might emerge about the wisdom of procrastination.

Was it procrastination or Divine timing?

There are many times when we have an idea to do something. We often assign a time to complete the task as if the time will “make” us do it. Then, we are happy if we complete it on time and upset if we don’t. We create our inner disturbance. Sometime later, we have more information which makes the tasks much easier or more efficient.

Last year when I moved, it felt really important to complete a specific task in the kitchen prior to moving into the new house. When I thought about it, I felt the pressure to accomplish the task. And, I knew that the pressure was not going to be helpful. I chose peace of mind over the pressure and have yet to complete the task months later.

Can you recall a similar experience in your life?

Was it procrastination or Divine timing?

In one conversation last week, someone mentioned that he spent 9 hours one day at www.heartfeltpresence.org and procrastinated taking care of paperwork. The following day, that paperwork took him two phone calls and 30 minutes to complete. I asked him how many 30 minutes he spent thinking about doing the paperwork? My question gave him a good laugh. I also wonder about the immense value he received in giving himself a 9 hour intensive and deepening in a profound understanding about how each of us experiences life.

Was it procrastination or Divine timing?

Some people procrastinate paying bills and then have a late fee. After so many late fees, sometimes people start paying before the due date. And how many minutes did they spend thinking about paying the bills and / or self-criticizing? I never experienced that self-abuse helped me to get something done.

Was it procrastination or Divine timing (and learning)?

Sometimes a project or task can feel really important for days and weeks and months. And then when I look at it again, the importance is gone. The need is gone. There is no longer a project.

Was that procrastination or Divine timing?

In the past, procrastination was a frequent experience that came with a lot of judgement. Self judgement did nothing to help me in getting anything completed. That judgement had ripple effects into my relationship with myself. Judgement did nothing to support me feeling my innate well being. Now, the inner critic is a feeling that generally passes through me as a gentle reminder of the thinking that I am attending to in the moment.

Who’s timing is it anyway? The way it appears to me now is that procrastination happens when we create the timing for something to complete. We create the timing and if we complete it within a specific self-created time then we feel good and if we don’t we feel bad. It no longer makes sense to me to be the creator of good or bad. It makes more sense to me to be open and curious about the Divine timing of it all!

The feeling of disappointment tells me that I innocently set a time frame to complete something and forgot about Divine timing.

Acceptance of timing has become a side effect of understanding that I am the creator of experience.

Yes, there are fines for late bills. That is just a message for us rather than a message about who we are.

Divine timing is seeing the innate perfection of life and living in the flow.

--

--