What Can Hitchcock and The Beatles Teach Us About Being Human?

Robert Grabel
Less Stress More Success
4 min readMar 1, 2021

This morning, I was intrigued by a curious article in my feed titled The Beatles Song Inspired by Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho. I’m a fan of both so I was immediately eager to read it. The article highlights the fact that Paul McCartney was fascinated with conductor Bernard Hermann’s “stabbing violins” from the Psycho theme. He was so inspired that he utilized a similar approach in the well-known “Eleanor Rigby.” Listen and I guarantee you’ll have an a-ha moment when you hear the clear influence. As a musician, I’ve always appreciated both pieces of music but never made the connection.

As this publication is dedicated to the Three Principles, an understanding of the range of human behaviour and feeling states, you might be wondering about the connection with what I highlighted above. Hang in there with me and you’ll see…

About two months ago, a colleague was sharing her frustration with the lack of progress she was seeing with a coaching client. She added that the client had the unique ability to always look at the dark side. Melissa Ford, our coach who was leading the program shared a similar experience. Melissa mentioned that she too had a client who tended to “Awfulize” her own experience.

It turns out that yes, Awfulize is a real word. HERE’S a link to the definition on Urban Dictionary. There are multiple other sites that offer similar definitions: Awfulize — is the imagining of horrific situations and outcomes that don’t yet exist, intense dread, fear, feelings of doom.

I was immediately struck by the thought-created nature of the word. Our ability to Awfulize is our thinking on steroids. It’s like a big spotlight with a filter over it that clouds every element of whatever we’re experiencing and turning it black.

Photo by Maxime Roedel on Unsplash

Fast forward, last week I was in conversation with a potential coaching client. She serves as the volunteer chair for a growing nonprofit organization while working a full-time job. Understandably, she’s rather busy and was in need of guidance on managing priorities. We talked through her goals and as we wrapped up, I asked if there was anything else she might like to explore. Without missing a beat she said “Just a better understanding of the limitations of human beings.” Simple enough, right?

The minute my potential client asked this, I was lit up. While she may have just been looking for better time management tips, I saw it as much more. I immediately jotted down her question on a piece of paper knowing it would find its way into a post. I just wasn’t sure where or how. And in full transparency, the story related to Awfulizing was actually written about two months ago — right when it happened. I just didn’t see a particular relevance other than simply what it was. Until this morning…

As I reflected on the disparity between someone Awfulizing life and someone else seeking to explore Unlimited Human Potential, something connected for me. It was something kind of beautiful that I can’t really describe. Perhaps, it was the same fascination and a-ha moment I had this morning. It occurred when music that represented such violence and danger (the Psycho music) could exist with and even within another piece of music (Elanor Rigby) that I’ve always admired as haunting yet beautiful.

I’ll share that I’ve been in an exploratory phase over the past few months. I’ve even mentioned to few a Three Principle practitioners that I’ve felt like I was missing something. I hadn’t had my own awakening moment like those described in books and podcasts. I still hadn’t experienced a moment of utter clarity like I had years ago doing the Landmark Forum. Back then you screamed “I got it” as you saw the light. So, what was wrong with me?

Turns out there’s nothing wrong with me or my understanding of these Principles. We learn the way we learn and understand as we understand. And the clarity comes from wherever it comes from. Today it was music. Tomorrow it will be what it will be. I’m good with that.

--

--

Robert Grabel
Less Stress More Success

Robert Grabel is committed to serving and does so through his practice Nonprofit Now! Learn about him at www.yournonprofitnow.com.