What Does it Really Mean to “Look Within?”

--

Photo by Dylan Freedom on Unsplash

She tried. She looked within and she didn’t like what she found.

It was noisy in there. Noisier and less pleasant than the distractions she was paying attention to instead. The noise outside her head, outside of her being.

That other place was more comfortable; the world of noise, of work, of social media and media. Even the noise of the construction site down the street was more comfortable than the space within. So she stopped trying to go there. Working hard to block out and ignore the busy thinking instead.

But she was mistaken. Innocently mistaken but mistaken nonetheless. There was a deeper space, under the noise in her head and she had no idea.

What is the space within?

What is the space under the noise and how do we find it? Why would we want to?

The world of psychology teaches us different. Yes, I’ve said this before. Psychology tells us to listen to our thoughts, understand them, “deal with them”. I hear about this a lot. “Look at the content of your thinking”, it teaches us. In the hope of gaining a new understanding or finding a past circumstance to blame. I’ve tried that myself — blamed my past for my present suffering.

“This inner world, is a spiritual world, it’s a…

--

--

Deborah Baron, I Coach Emerging Leaders
Less Stress More Success

I coach and mentor young professionals and emerging leaders to find their confidence and competence so they can step into their full potential.