Historical Facts

13 Astonishing Facts Behind the Construction of the Grand Roman Colosseum

This new wonder of the world is much more than it lets on

Bhavnaa Narula
Lessons from History
10 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Picture of the grand Colosseum in Rome (Screenshot by the author)

Ever since I have become a fan of Joaquin Phoenix after watching the movie ‘Joker’, I decided to watch other epic performances by him. That's when I came across the classic ‘Gladiator’ which already had garnered millions of fans worldwide and did very well at the box office as well.

As expected, Phoenix didn't disappoint me at all with his grey character, however, the movie got me fascinated with everything about the Roman culture. Their kings, queens, ministers, games, food, beverages, slaves, wars, entertainment, etc.

Keeping that fire alive, I present to you 13 super fun facts about what went into the making of the Colosseum, one of the most popular attractions in the world. Each fact being was more interesting than the previous one.

1. The Colosseum site was chosen for a reason

Picture of King Nero (Screenshot by the author)

In 64 CE, emperor Nero built himself a home, which he humbly named as the ‘Golden Palace.’…

--

--

Bhavnaa Narula
Lessons from History

I am a dancer who writes what her heart dictates. My Insta ID- theaquarianparadise/ thedancingparadise28