Relationships | History | Culture

How Do Conjoined Twins Handle Intimacy? A History and Guide.

A look into the complicated sex life of extremely close relatives.

Sean Kernan
Lessons from History
5 min readNov 12, 2021

--

editorial rights purchased via iStock Photos

Last week, a clip of two conjoined twins running around on the beach jumped onto my YouTube feed.

They were progressively more connected as you moved down the torso. By the waist, they were completely one person. It was also evident that they shared a lady part.

Human curiosity got the better of me: how does intimacy go down? Would I be dating one of them? Both? What is the procedure for a hookup and consent?

One thing my research has confirmed for certain: conjoined twins enjoy sex and have since the beginning of recorded history. But it does get complicated at times.

The sex lives of conjoined twins

Conjoined twins face a common stigma that they are one person rather than two. They get asked lots of stupid questions about having the same thoughts and if they agree on everything.

This is also common with regular identical twins. One of the worst things you can do is confuse your girlfriend for her twin (don’t ask me how I know that).

--

--

Sean Kernan
Lessons from History

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.