How Much Does Queen Elizabeth II Pay Her Cleaning Lady?

I would expect her to pay a decent wage, wouldn’t you?

Joanna Henderson
Lessons from History

--

Licensed via Freepik

Would you want to work for the Queen of England or for any royal family? I suspect that if you’re anti-monarchy, you wouldn’t. But I would! Because where I live, which is Canada, a government job translates into very decent pay, many vacation days, excellent benefits and a reasonable workload. I mean, it may take people 2 hours to get through to an agent at a call centre or you sometimes have to wait for 6 months for them to profess a simple form… But that’s not the government’s problem! They can charge you $400 for filing an immigration form and then take 1 year to process it, but that’s only because they are too cheap to hire more people or offer their staff overtime.

In all seriousness though, having a government job is great. I applied for those many times, yet I never got a call. Too bad, not so sad though – I’m pretty happy working for a private corporation. No regrets there. But if ever offered, I’d totally consider such a job.

Wouldn’t you expect the Queen of England to pay her staff a decent wage with great benefits? I would. I’m not British but I always assumed government jobs are equally good in England and other British countries. After all, Canada is a former British colony and we modelled…

--

--

Joanna Henderson
Lessons from History

Canadian. Mental health activist. Banker and financier who drinks too much coffee. Pursuing happiness and sharing my thoughts with others.