Lost in the Ruins of Ephesus

Unpacking the history of an ancient Greco-Roman city

Library of Celsus. Ephesus, Turkey. All photos by author.

Clouds drape the mountains that surround the small Turkish village of Sirince. According to the locals, the sky has been faultlessly blue for three months — neither clouds nor precipitation since May. And yet, with my arrival, the clouds roll in, making me wonder if I might be a relative of Douglas Adam’s Rain God? I would like to have the power to bring rain to arid regions, but the Turkish sun is too powerful. An hour after daybreak, and blue seams appear in the gray overcast. Before breakfast has even begun to settle, the clouds have dissipated.

But that is fine. Today I am on my way to the ancient Greek city of Ephesus, an ancient Greco-Roman marvel as well as the mailing address for Paul’s Letter to the Ephesians. I associate this land with ample sunshine and heat; a dour sky might have lent a false impression.

Column base, Ephesus, Turkey.

The ruins of Ephesus sit a mere 11 kilometers from Sirince, which explains why I have been living in this small village. After visiting the other regional attractions, the time has arrived for the giant gyros, as they say in Greece.

--

--

Richard J. Goodrich - The Peripatetic Historian
Lessons from History

The Peripatetic Historian: former history professor now travelling the world and writing about its history. Newsletter: http://rjgoodrich.substack.com.