History | Mythology | Fiction |

My Favorite Mythology Story: Persephone And Hades

Why I love this story and what it teaches.

Sean Kernan
Lessons from History
5 min readApr 21, 2022

--

Editorial rights purchased via iStock Photos

I have always wanted to retell a mythology story in my own words as so many have before me (while keeping the key facts in place, obviously).

I am only a writer today because I fell in love with mythology at a young age. Stories of Zeus and Hercules were my gateway drug.

This is the story of Hades and Persephone.

It’s a love story, but not the type you think

The goddess Demeter has a daughter with Zeus.

Demeter names the baby Persephone. However, she is immediately concerned about this young child. Demeter sees into the future and realizes Persephone will have uncanny beauty, unlike any that mortal men have seen.

Demeter grew fiercely protective of her young daughter. Demeter had lived as a beautiful goddess within this savage and divine kingdom. She had seen the harm Gods cause to beautiful females.

Demeter also knew that a mortal man's love was destined for heartbreak, as the man would shrivel in the passage of time before her.

--

--

Sean Kernan
Lessons from History

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.