Will British Prince Charles Rule as King Charles III?

Charles I was executed and Charles II was a hedonist

Peter Preskar
Lessons from History

--

Charles I, Charles II, and Prince Charles (Image of Charles I: Wikimedia Commons, image of Charles II: Wikimedia Commons, and image of Prince Charles: Wikimedia Commons)

Prince Charles (born in 1948) is the oldest and the longest-serving heir apparent in British history. Queen Elizabeth II (born in 1926) is the longest-living and longest-reigning British monarch. Definitely, we are witnesses to the record-breaking longevity of the British royals.

At some point in the future, Prince Charles will succeed Queen Elizabeth II as the King of the United Kingdom. What name he will take as the king? Will he rule as Charles III?

Charles I and Charles II led very infamous lives. Charles I was executed and Charles II had a hedonistic life full of extramarital affairs.

Does Prince Charles really want to be linked to them through royal name?

Charles I — the king who wanted absolute power, but lost his head instead

King Charles I (ruled 1625-1649) (Image: Wikimedia Commons)

Charles I (ruled 1625-1649) was King of England, Scotland, and Ireland. He believed in the divine rights of kings and desired to rule with absolute power. He levied taxes without parliamentary…

--

--