Six Remarkable Facts About Frida Kahlo

Much more than a fashion icon.

Mariana Vargas
Lessons from History

--

Frida Kahlo sitting in front of a book shelf
Picture from Archivo Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo, Banco de México, Fiduciario en el Fideicomiso relativo a los Museos Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo

A couple of years ago, in a pre-pandemic World, I attended Lisbon’s Book Fair with my friend Vincent.

Vincent is a classic Gemini. He can talk for hours about Italian neorealist cinema, the Bauhaus movement, or vaporwave music. And I, a typical Aquarian, can easily spend hours listening to his endless cultural knowledge. Therefore, I considered him to be the perfect company for a book shopping afternoon.

At a certain point, a children’s book stand got my attention. It was promoting a collection of historic female biographies targeted at children. Amelia Earhart, Marie Curie, and Anne Frank were some titles, but it was Frida Kahlo’s that captured my attention.

Book cover of Frida Kahlo’s biography by Little People, Big Dreams collection
Frida Kahlo’s biography for children, by Little People, BIG DREAMS.

I have been obsessed with Frida ever since I watched Julie Taymor’s biopic in my teens. Vincent knew my beloved cat was named after her, so he was not surprised by my interest in the book.

However, when I cheered the author’s honesty in talking about Frida’s unconventional life in a child’s book, he asked me what I was talking about. He was fond of her artwork, but he didn’t know a lot about her personal…

--

--

Mariana Vargas
Lessons from History

UX Engineer | Singer-songwriter | Underground Influencer | Enthusiast of the Bizarre