The Brilliant Story Behind the Error 404 Message

“404: Not Found” dates back to the 1980s

Winifred J. Akpobi
Lessons from History

--

Photo by visuals on Unsplash

People who constantly explore the internet have come across the bothersome message of error 404. When I first saw it, I thought that was the internet’s way of telling me I was a clumsy kid who needed to get my homework done as programmed by my parents. Growing up, I’ve come to realize that error 404 is actually an error, which supposedly streams back to the early days of the net. Just like how everything has an origin or history, an error 404 message does too.

404 Not Found

This is a message encountered when someone unknowingly visits a page that does not exist. It’s the internet’s way of saying you’ve reached a dead-end. Though being the most unpleasant page for most people, it never seemed to stop being overly popular because of its constant reach.

404 is a HTTP status code. HTTP, meaning Hypertext Transfer Protocol.

Status codes are issued by a server in response to a client’s request made to the server. It includes codes from IETF Request for Comments (RFCs), other specifications, and some additional codes used in some common applications of the HTTP. The first digit of the status code specifies one of five standard classes of responses. The…

--

--

Winifred J. Akpobi
Lessons from History

Young, graceful womanist. You should read my stuff while you’re here <3 💌 Email: winifredakpobi@gmail.com