The History of Johnnie Walker

Who was the Walker behind the whisky?

Ben Kageyama
Lessons from History

--

Johnnie Walker logo, 1909, Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

While I always prefer a beer as my drink of choice after a long day at work, my father leaned more on whisky. His humble collection of bottles was always on display whenever we had guests. The poison that was usually offered? Johnnie Walker’s Black Label. For him, it was pricey enough to impress without breaking the bank.

I remember asking him when I was six if Johnnie Walker was his friend and why he had so many of his bottles. He laughed and said that Johnnie was his best friend. When I further inquired on who exactly he was, he dismissed it and said I wasn’t old enough to understand.

Well, I guess I’m old enough now. It’s about time I revisited this question.

Who was Johnnie Walker?

Johnnie Walker is currently the world’s most widely distributed Scotch whisky. John “Johnnie” Walker is the man depicted on those bottles sold worldwide. Born on July 25, 1805, on a farm in East Ayrshire, Scotland, John Walker’s father died when John was still a young teenager in 1819.

After his father’s demise, the walker family sold off the farm and used the proceeds to fund a grocery and warehouse business. This was the world where young John began learning the ins and outs of being a grocer and merchant…

--

--