What Country Celebrates a Special ‘Candy Day’ Every Saturday?

A country that designated Saturday as Candy Day in the 1940s.

Joanna Henderson
Lessons from History

--

wirestock via freepik (Licensed)

Do you like sweets? Many of us do. I ate a small chocolate bar earlier today with my coffee, and I have zero regrets about that. According to the American Heart Association, men shouldn’t consume more than 36 grams of sugar per day; it’s 25 grams for women.

While I’m well aware of the alarming rates of obesity, I limit my sugar intake. I may not be counting exactly every gram I’m consuming, but I do my best to keep myself healthy while also satisfying my sweet tooth.

But did you know there is a country that has a designated Candy Day? No-no, you can absolutely have candy any day of the week; it’s not a crime if you opt for it any other day.

Having said that, this country ran a successful social campaign to encourage parents to limit the amount of candy their kids consume. As you may have guessed, that campaign was quite successful.

The country in question is Sweden, and here’s how Candy Day became a thing there.

Scandinavians Have a Different Approach to Happiness

If you are interested in other cultures, especially the European one, you may know that…

--

--

Joanna Henderson
Lessons from History

Canadian. Mental health activist. Banker and financier who drinks too much coffee. Pursuing happiness and sharing my thoughts with others.