Lesson from a Two-Year Writing Hiatus

Some fortune cookies contain no fortune. So true.

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary
4 min readFeb 11, 2021

--

I was “lucky” enough to get this in a fortune cookie. This sums up so many things.

The Backstory

I started writing short articles in 2015 to help expand my creative writing ability, share my stories, and develop a legacy of thoughtful content. I wrote about my outcomes and revelations after writing 25 stories in the first year, where I learned the benefits of writing.

I was on a roll! It felt great, and I was able to professionally grow in ways I was hoping to. I was even referencing stories I wrote in presentations and team building exercises. I found my rhythm and advanced my personal brand through content publishing.

Then, after almost 3 years and 54 stories published, I stopped in 2018.

The Object

An outside office. Wish this was every day.

I lost my voice and needed direction. I had plenty of topics, objects, and lessons to write about. My production process worked great.

So, what happened?

I took 2 years off.

I felt like I was stuck in a pattern or rut… in some sports or life circles, this could be called a slump or mid-life crisis!

I was producing content, but I didn’t feel like myself. I started to experience a self-disconnect having too much objectivity and not enough subjectivity.

I kept my Medium “blog” alive and pinned in my browser. I watched the time stamps of stories I’ve started to write tick by…

“Last edited 4 months ago.”

“Last edited 1 year ago.”

“Last edited over 2 years ago.”

It was frustrating. It was like writers block, but it wasn’t.
I needed a new purpose and prioritization.

I needed to feel clearer headed. I needed to share for the right reasons. I needed to write for the right reasons. I had great lessons from my approach using the “Lesson from a…” structure. In reviewing them, they still hold true:

  • The kind of writer you are matters
  • Writing provides a sense of achievement
  • Appreciate your writing style and use it to advance your personal brand
  • Have the confidence to share your stories

Then, after about 2 years of not publishing any stories, I was “strongly encouraged” to write for a new reason… my daughters.

I was gifted the opportunity to write for Story Worth, where the stories that are written are published into a book for your loved ones to read about your life. So, they have your life stories written. Wow. Turns out, I needed this.

The motivation to write FOR A SPECIFIC SOMEONE was new. The motivation to share my life stories for those I love was inspiring. The chance to share my thoughts and allow my personal observations, opinions, and experiences subjectively shape my stories was liberating.

The Lesson

My story writing structure began procedurally, as I figured out HOW to write and keep the throughput of content flowing. Just like this story, the style and structure still resonates, but my new angle better balances where I need to be and where I am right now. I am figuring out WHY I am writing.

Writing Style Approach

  • 2015–2018 = “Lesson from a…”
  • 2020-Present = “Questions asked and answered for my daughters”

The first approach is objective and my audience was primarily professionals… pretty much anyone… which is actually no one. As I have preached before, if you target everyone, you target no one.

My second approach is subjective and my audience was 2 people. That’s all that really mattered. Sharing for the right people to read, yet share wider for others to benefit.

The Take-aways:

  • It’s okay to hit the pause button to regain focus.
  • Share for the right people. It’s hard, but reader numbers don’t matter.
  • Life lessons come in phases. Balance them to feel fulfilled.
  • Let others influence your writing and how you think about your impact.

There’s a balance that needed to be created, and I learned you have to keep finding yourself over and over again.

I know that my answered questions can be shared and be applicable to a wider audience, and I share them that way by design. I know that my object lessons have personal views, and I communicate them to everyone.

But now with these two approaches together, my focus is in a better place. There is no place else I need to be than right here. For now.

Hiking in the Smoky Mountains. Pushing limits.

Written by Shaun Holloway.

--

--

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary

Lessons from Ordinary. Business and life learning from everyday objects and common questions. http://www.srholloway.com