Was getting a graduate degree worth it?

Questions asked and answered for my daughters

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary
3 min readOct 4, 2020

--

My friends from graduate school on graduation day.

The short answer to whether or not a graduate or advanced degree is worth it is… absolutely yes. I earned my Master of Business Administration after completing my undergraduate degree, and it was one of the best decisions I have made.

Why?

An advanced degree or a specialized license in a trade, represent a level of base knowledge that gives you an edge over the competition for jobs and establishes new levels of confidence when serving others, especially when choosing the right path for you.

There are several competing factors to consider about whether or not to pursue a degree, but often the most important one is… when. Now or later? This is an individual choice, and it requires knowing who you are and how you work… think back to your personal mission statement.

For me, I chose to pursue my advanced degree soon after my first. I knew that in the future I would struggle to be in the mindset of studying and that life would get in the way — time and experience would give me limitations, and there would never be a better time.

And for me, I had tough conversations with my friends… what did we really learn? What did we experience? What tools were we armed with to contribute? I needed to have the confidence going into a career where I understood the WHY… why was the organization doing what it was and how to best work with people. Having confidence and pride in who you are makes the difference, and for me, having the practical experiences that I got through graduate school gave me what I needed.

The other side of the decision is how much experience should you have before pursuing an advanced degree or specialization. Honestly, that approach has so many dependencies and de-values the individual. I contend that quality over quantity experience will win every time, and ultimately, it comes down to how well you work with people no matter what.

The Results.

I chose a graduate program that emphasized practical, hands-on learning through live-client projects, working on real in-the-moment problems for businesses, and applying what I learned. Some programs encourage practical learning but not in the curriculum, thus putting more emphasis on theory and historical cases, which is fine, but I knew what I needed.

I removed the “technical” ceilings where a degree was required, but the degree did not put me on a fast career trajectory. It was the confidence that it gave me combined with the tools to work with people in an area of my passion that gave me the career trajectory. I was able to earn jobs like teaching students; I was able to learn to think differently about how to solve problems and get things done with others; I was able understand the impact of my work and capitalize on combining my strengths in time with economic trends.

Follow Your Heart.

For me, it was worth it. For you, maybe it is not. Either way, you need to find the path that gives you the confidence to follow your heart, understand the why, and gives you a competitive edge along your life journey.

You will always win, if you invest in yourself.

Shaking the university president’s hand across the graduation stage.

--

--

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary

Lessons from Ordinary. Business and life learning from everyday objects and common questions. http://www.srholloway.com