What is one of the best photographs you’ve ever taken?

Questions asked and answered for my daughters

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary
3 min readApr 10, 2021

--

2018… Kiiera and Karlli’s hands in mine.

What a tough question! I like a lot of photos for lots of different reasons, but the one where I took a photo of each of your hands over mine is one of my favorite and best.

Kiiera was 8 years old, and Karlli was 5 years old, and the photo captures you growing up, being protected, and a moment that will never happen again.

The feeling of your hands in mine instills a feeling of pride, but also sadness and excitement, as you will grow up from my little girls to adults. It will be fun to look back at how small your hands were compared to mine and how they fit perfectly.

Best Photos as Determined by Google and Unsplash

I enjoy publishing on Google Maps… editing places, contributing photos, videos, and adding new businesses. It’s one of my favorite activities to do while traveling.

When I view my photo contributions on Google Maps, there is one photo I took of the Old Navy Outlet in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina that remains the most popular photo I’ve shared with over 3.3 million views:

It’s at an outlet mall, and at a popular tourist area… it’s not the best quality of photo, but it’s the most useful for people!

Throughout my published stories, I share original photos, and I used to share my photos on the site Unsplash. I can’t share on the site currently, as the site upped it’s file size requirements above what my phone camera can take (5MB), which I get and don’t get at the same time.

Unsplash is a free stock photography site that people can publish their photos to, and one of my photos of a pumpkin seed has been viewed and downloaded over 3.5 million times:

This is one my better quality photos, and others must like it a lot too, especially as I see downloads increase in the fall.

As the common photographer cliché goes…

the best camera you have is the one that you have on you at the time you need to capture a moment.

I’m not a professional photographer, but I enjoy capturing moments that help people in their quest for knowledge, and I most enjoy capturing the moments that inspire memories and feelings of watching you grow up and experience life.

--

--

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary

Lessons from Ordinary. Business and life learning from everyday objects and common questions. http://www.srholloway.com