What is the best meal you’ve cooked over a campfire?

Questions asked and answered for my daughters

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary
2 min readMay 26, 2021

--

“Egg-cellent” question! I was fortunate growing up to have a group of friends that enjoyed camping out in the woods. Even though we had tents and not our campers we have today, we often came prepared with luxurious things like nice chairs, food, and lights. Cell phones… didn’t exist yet.

The best meal I’ve had over a campfire was steak and eggs for breakfast.

Yep, steak AND eggs.

No skimping out on quality! My friends and I were on a trip to Mammoth Caves, Kentucky, and we base-camped at a nearby park.

Our campsite during the trip. The tan and green tent… still use it… ~25 years!

Having worked at a restaurant during this time, we were able to score some excellent meat cuts and eggs to pack into our coolers in preparation for the trip. Almost anything cooked over a campfire is better — it’s right up there with grilling in the backyard.

Scrambled eggs cooked in a seasoned cast-iron skillet. Watching a tender steak slowly turn medium. Some of the best campfire food involves mixing things up and cooking food together… let the juices merge.

So much protein in preparation for our adventure. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

It was definitely memorable, especially for the taste buds. I wish I had pictures of the meal from the trip, but I only had a film camera at the time and took a limited number of pictures.

Camping pro-tip: Cook over an open fire.

--

--

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary

Lessons from Ordinary. Business and life learning from everyday objects and common questions. http://www.srholloway.com