What is your favorite animal, and why?

Questions asked and answered for my daughters

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary
2 min readSep 21, 2020

--

Bald Eagle photo I took at the Joseph Moore Museum in Indiana.

There are a lot of animals that I like, but the one that is my favorite has graced the cover of my Facebook page for years; it would be my spirit animal; and when I see one, I always try to get a picture… the bald eagle.

The bald eagle is a striking symbol of power that is majestic. From the intense eyes, distinct colors, and a soaring fierceness, the eagle gives me a sense of encouragement. It’s a hunter, care-giver, and oozes respect, and I admire the strength it possesses.

While I have attempted to photograph them live at zoos, I haven’t had much luck with my cell phone camera. BUT, I did have amazing luck photographing one at the Joseph Moore Museum in Indiana during one of our camping trips ;-).

When did the Bald Eagle become my favorite animal?

I think the bird became my favorite sometime in high school, when I was working on PowerPoint presentations for church, and I put together slides with Bible verses. One verse that I have always remembered uses an eagle as a way to illustrate God’s message… it’s also my favorite Bible verse:

Isaiah 40:31

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;

they shall mount up with wings like eagles;

they shall run and not be weary;

they shall walk and not faint.

I connect the symbolic nature of the bald eagle to God’s Word and how He can help us soar with fierceness; how He cares for us; and how He always encourages us with such respect and love.

What animals influences your feelings, makes you feel protected, and emulates the attributes that you strive to have in your life?

--

--

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary

Lessons from Ordinary. Business and life learning from everyday objects and common questions. http://www.srholloway.com