Auditions are a Tease

You are Never Really Satisfied

Austin&Joy
2 min readFeb 28, 2014

Today I went to an Audition in New York City. Having auditioned quite a lot in the last five years, I have come to realize that auditions are a tease.

When I received an e-mail that I had an audition, I was super excited. I started getting ready by practicing every day. When the day finally arrived, I picked out the perfect outfit, made sure my hair and makeup looked great and out the door I went. I felt prepared, polished, and professional.

On the way to the audition, all of these thoughts pop into my head. Who will I be auditioning for? How will my voice sound? Did I bring the right resume? I wonder what they will ask. It almost feels like I am going on a blind date.

When I arrive, they look for me and ask my name. “Joy?” “Yes that is me.” I reply, trying not to seem overly anxious.

I go into this room, they close the door, talk to me for a moment and then they want to see me perform. I look at their faces, wondering if they like it and then they say, “Well, we will be in touch.” This happens in a matter of five minutes.

Even when you feel that you did your best or showed them everything you had, there is this moment after an audition where you feel like you wanted something more. It feels like the audition teased you. I compare it to going to meet a blind date for coffee, him drinking it in five minutes and then saying, “Well, we will be in touch.” In your mind, you have all these questions such as, “Did he like me? Was it something I wore? Do I have something in my teeth? Did I talk too much? Should I text him?” It feels like a tease and not knowing what they thought stings a bit.

If he texts you or calls you, you feel satisfied and thrilled that he liked you. If they call you or e-mail you that you are invited for a callback or they want you for the job, you feel satisfied and thrilled that you made it! Then it is in your hands to decide if it is really for you.

Some people stay in the dating game and some people don’t and it is the same with the acting world. How many times will you get back out there after you get turned down? How long will you stick it out till you find the right match and land the perfect job or mate for you?

--

--

Austin&Joy

We are a couple that shares inspiration for everyday life. http://lifepoints.net @_lifepoints