5 Reasons to make Mistakes.

Great Leaders Allow Them Too.

Eren Goemleksiz
Lessons Learned
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2013

--

I’ve learned to make mistakes. At the beginning of my time at work, I‘ve tried full effort and never make a mistake. But that put me under pressure and never have the idea to make mistakes put me under psychological pressure. Until one day a mistake occurred, I was very scared about me and was shocked about the whole situation. I was very frustrated and disappointed even by me. After a period where I had been thinking more about me, I thought “It was not as bad as I had imagined, because those situation or rather the mistake brought me further.”

No matter what you ask successful people, they will all tell you the same thing.Make many mistakes, learn from it, do it better next time, and stay tuned.

No matter what area you want to improve yourself, whether in your relationships, your job or your elocution, you have to try a lot, often fall down and get up again once more.

Making mistakes is not the opposite of success, but rather an essential part of it. Without mistake, no success. No one remembers anyway more on your knockdowns.

The most important thing I learned was exactly the thoughts that I have summarized in five points to me! Namely to be something better and that it strengthens me.

  1. Afraid to make mistakes - This is the biggest mistake ever. As soon as you think to not be allowed to fail, one does to always put under extreme pressure, thus giving the appearance to do everything well. We humans make mistakes, you can not abolish it.
  2. Mistakes teach us - With every mistake that we make we discover more and more about ourselves, about who we are, about our limits, about our capabilities, about what we can and cannot do. They help us be more compassionate and more tolerant with ourselves and others. If mistakes occur, they won’t be repeated, because they remain in strong memories.
  3. Progress - Mistake is a progress, which is not many people aware. When a mistake has clearly been made, the most important thing anyone can do is figure out what safety nets and roadblocks can be carefully established to ensure that this same mistake will never take place again. Document this step so the lessons learned and the safeguards setup can always go beyond you. This is something that many people don’t.
  4. No more fear - The feeling of making mistakes is lost. In Case it happens a different mistake again, is your treatment much more different than the first time. You see mistakes from a different angle.
  5. Nobody is Perfect - Everyone has made ​​mistakes, whether in job or private life. Mistakes show us, that at a certain point it shouldn’t extend as one might imagine. Mistakes instruct us, they give us a better direction. Every success human made mistakes and nobody in the world is perfect.

No matter what, but you have to somehow make the concern is something wrong. If you are constantly praised, whether working in the private life or any where else, you still have in mind a bit below to be compressed because it also thinks “What happens if I do something wrong?” No matter what happens, it has already happened. What happens the next time, will be made better. People learn in life. I’ve learned to have no more fear of mistakes. We live in a society where nobody is talking about mistakes, the just talking about the big shots . It’s not a Mindset, it’s reality.

--

--

Eren Goemleksiz
Lessons Learned

Computer Scientist,Thinks Entrepreneurial & Does things that others don’t