An Afternoon Spent Off The Beaten Path In Historic Chestertown Maryland

An Old Hair Care Product For Men & My Client Today Was A Bit Of A Snake

A Sunny Afternoon

The sun finally came out late in the afternoon just as I was finishing up my photo shoot in Chestertown Maryland. Both artistically and personally I like Chestertown both for its historical colonial ambiance and scenic waterfront location along the Chester River. While possessing similar past and present characteristics with Annapolis - a centuries old college, stately historic residences and an economic base somewhat dependent on tourism, Chestertown retains its Royal Port of Entry vibe much more so than our State Capital does today. Here the waterfront is much more residential in nature — appearing historic or stately like although there is a condo complex set a little ways up the river. It is also more people friendly in that there are two parks interspersed among the residences and the only restaurant located along the town’s main waterfront area.

My journey here centered on photographing 18th Century buildings and waterfront vistas as well as examples of local Bay area wildlife. Frankly I can not remember ever experiencing a disappointing day taking pictures in Chestertown and have always enjoyed the time that I spent here over the years.

The Barber Shop

In any event after completing my photo shoot I took a bit of a disjointed path back to the car. While walking along one street, located just above a mixed residential and commercial part of town, I came across an old barber shop that was part of the first floor in a 60 or 70 year old residence built of cinder blocks. Perhaps best described as dilapidated looking with faded sea green paint on its exterior walls, an overgrown side yard and a small one step up porch the sight of this rusted metal Wildroot sign caught my eye.

Wildroot? Well it had to be something to do with hair given the ‘root’ part of its name. Then I began to remember that it was a hair oil treatment, or as it used to be referred to a ‘tonic’, used by barbers on their customer’s hair decades ago. I guess it was for preserving that Elvis look popular back in the 1950's and 60's. None the less I found this scene to be more reminiscent of an exposed time capsule that represented a period years ago when men had their hair cut at barber shops and unisex establishments like the Hair Cuttery was an idea who’s time had not yet come.

A Garter Snake Sunning On Water Street • Chestertown Maryland

A Town Mascot

Leaving the barber shop I turned down Water Street where the fragrances of the nearby bushes were thick in the breeze and their flower’s vibrant colors reminded me of early Spring. Using my sense of smell as a guide, rather than looking ahead much less up or down, I was surprised to catch sight of this fellow basking in the sunshine only a couple of feet off the sidewalk in front of a residence that I happen to be passing by. It was a Garter Snake, certainly an adult by its overall length, that had taken up a defensive like posture. Not especially known for their aggressiveness it seemed that it was striking this pose to let those who come near it to please step far to the side of the walkway.

After taking a couple of photographs I thanked it for working with me this afternoon and went on about my way.

Aftermath

So it seemed that my small detour off the normally traveled path in Chestertown today was well worth it. I have to admit that I do not foresee myself using any Wildroot in the future and I certainly will keep a closer eye out for snakes on my future visits to this Historic Royal Port of Entry on the Chester River.

G J Gibson

Images and Article Copyright ©2014 G J Gibson Photography LLC

--

--

G Gibson Photo Art
Experiences & Aspirations Of A Historian, Photographer & Writer

Maryland Chesapeake Bay Photographer & Writer Infatuated by the Region's Natural Beauty, Architectural Splendor, Maritime Ambiance, & Rich History