You Assume Unfairness Because It Makes You Feel Better

A Short True Story From “Pancake Day” in Shanghai

Sebastian Marshall
1 min readOct 1, 2013

We’re not talking about global level fairness. We’re talking about “why am I fat and he’s not” fairness.

We’re at “Pancake Day” Restaurant in Shanghai.

Greg Nance sits across from me in perfect physical condition, yet he’s eating a gigantic stack of pancakes and sugary toppings.

“How can you eat so much of that junk and not get fat? It’s unfair,” I say.

I’ve got a joking tone. Am I really joking? Many a truth is said in jest.

Greg replies, matter of factly: “I run about 100 miles per week.”

“Oh. Well, that makes sense then.”

There’s nothing magical about success, and it’s perfectly fair. You can have your cake and eat it too. The answer is obvious: stop idly surfing the web, screwing around, and wasting your time, and start running your 100 miles per week in the area you want to achieve.

Sebastian Marshall authors The Strategic Review, actionable long-form insights from strategy. You should get a free subscription at http://www.thestrategicreview.net

--

--