Diets and Motivations: Their Roles in Mother Nature

Lys Wainwright
Let Our Fuel Be Kind to Nature
3 min readMar 10, 2021

As I progressed into adulthood, my longing for more definition to my own moral compass became a priority. This desire fueled my passion for Mother Earth, and the ability to connect with all forms of life.

Since then, I have had many interesting encounters regarding the topic of our connection to nature. I’m optimistic that our ability to connect to a deeper meaning for what nature has intended is not a total loss. The question for me then became,

“What can I do to strengthen my connection to life and all its creatures?”

This is how I came across going vegan. I don’t think I thought anything of it at first, because my mom has been vegetarian for over fifteen years. As the years go on, I feel more alienated and less accepted by people who used to know me when I did consume animal products.

The reason I think this topic has so much value, is because I don’t think that veganism is viewed by society from a logistical or mature perspective lots of times. The cognitive dissonance associated with an omnivore diet creates massive imbalances to how we connect to the natural world.

An award winning 100% vegan burger, it’s fun knowing more about vegan options!

I have researched different pieces of the puzzle that’s been introduced by this topic of veganism. Daniel Rosenfeld, at Cornell University’s Department of Human Development, goes over the motivations of plant-based dieters in his article.

He stated, “Much research on vegetarianism suggests that people’s self-understanding derives from not only what they eat but also why they eat that way.”(Rosenfeld, 2017) The author is describing a moment of internal awareness that lots of plant-based individuals eventually face. The reason or motivation behind why you’re doing something is often brushed under what you’re doing in the first place.

I think more people need to take time to understand the motivations of a group of people, there are many reasons for why people do what they do, and they shouldn’t be so generalized.

The study that Rosenfeld based his original article on stated, “Theoretical perspectives and empirical findings on purpose in life suggest that plant-based dieters with a high level of prosocial motivation, in particular, may cultivate a sense of purpose in their food choices. Given connections between identity and purpose, purposeful plant-based food choices may have further implications for identity and other forms of self-understanding.”(Rosenfeld, 2017)

In other words, there is a line of deeper purpose and motivation that’s cultivated from adopting a plant-based diet.

The article that I’ve referenced has really broken down the different reasons that people decide to make health or food choices. There are a variety of motivations and conflicts that can arise to drive someone to alter the way they eat.

Although society may still look down in some ways on a vegan diet, the motivations of these choices largely impact how someone is perceived. To end the notion that a vegan diet is insufficient, would allow us to end the needless judgement and division placed around us by powerful industries.

Reference:

Rosenfeld, D. (2017, September). Vegetarian on purpose: Understanding the motivations of plant-based eaters. Retrieved March 10, 2021, from https://www-sciencedirect-com.gate.lib.buffalo.edu/science/article/pii/S0195666317303380

--

--

Lys Wainwright
Let Our Fuel Be Kind to Nature

I’m a Business Major with a passion for entrepreneurship and small business pursuits. I love climbing, hiking, and playing music. All vegan.