Introduction

Lys Wainwright
Let Our Fuel Be Kind to Nature
3 min readMar 7, 2021

Connecting to Nature by What We Consume

  • Goal 17: Live in Harmony with Nature.

The concept of veganism, or a plant-based diet eludes to the underlying goal of humanity’s ability to connect more with nature. Having a coherent understanding of the effects of withdrawing consumption of meat and dairy products can have massive impacts on the ways we collectively value the lives of all creatures. As a global community, we have the potential to reduce carbon emissions and fight climate change through our diets much more so than we are currently.

I am very passionate about giving the voiceless a place in my mind to speak. I strongly desire to invoke deep-thought processes towards what people choose to consume.

My mindfulness and awareness towards being vegan has pushed me to reach new limits amongst my community and has inspired people all along the way. I find true joy in communicating with other health-conscious people or those with a genuine interest in following plant-based diets. I started to put my involvement towards living a more ethically sustainable lifestyle and being vegan just started to make more and more sense to me.

I will be pursuing a career that allows me to empower people to live fully, in a way that respects all living creatures.

In short, I think every person could benefit from gaining insight on what it actually means for someone to be vegan. My claim for this idea runs between the negative stigmas that I see currently attached to people within our mainstream culture.

Through my own personal experience, I have been able to connect with nature and all it inhabits so much more vividly since going vegan. I advocate that there shouldn’t be any negativity or confusion associated with the growing number of those choosing not to consume animals or animal by-products.

In this Publication, I will be exploring the following three questions:

A man showing his friendly cow a warm embrace.
  1. What would the world look like if a majority of people went vegan?

· This seems like a question for the imaginative people. In a world where more vegans exist than non-vegans? We can see the what the potential benefits are involved in shifting the resources that we use for energy and consumption.

2. To be or not to be…vegan. Does what you eat help to determine how much you care about animals and nature?

· There’s been many studies conducted to make connections between our brains and how they can physiologically change after going on a certain period with no meat (bi-)products. I am curious to explore these ideas in depth, to see if I can possibly make some of my own connections.

3. Can going vegan really change the way we feel when we’re exposed to nature?

· Personally, I feel this effect on a daily basis. After I ended my days with meat and dairy, I began to feel more connected to the birds, trees, and any other harmonious surrounding. This makes me wonder how the food we eat impacts our ability to interpret the energies around us.

Since childhood, we’ve all been conditioned to eating whatever was advertised on T.V, and by that we become a mere product of some massively corrupt industries.

It leaves me disturbed and unsettled to think that people would live without considering these somewhat tranquilizing societal norms. Animal agriculture is one of the top reasons for deforestation (the Amazon Rainforest) and global carbon emissions as well. Today, there are so many documentaries, articles, and posts that address in detail what I’m relaying here with you.

--

--

Lys Wainwright
Let Our Fuel Be Kind to Nature

I’m a Business Major with a passion for entrepreneurship and small business pursuits. I love climbing, hiking, and playing music. All vegan.