Only for you

N C Luck
Let’s Destroy Everything, Shall We?
2 min readJan 1, 2016

“I don’t believe in fairy tales,
but I believe in you.
Let all the dreamers wake the nation
and love me less,
but love me for a long time.”

Let you feel the weight
and weigh me down.
Because if the tree never gives,
where must the players play?
The bright ocean is waiting
and my heart’s weight is full,
but never will it fill
while I am staring at the stars.

Lay here
while the fires flame consumes you.
Stay here
and listen to the dark.

How quickly I have forgotten
the lies I told your shadow —
or were you there?
I don’t remember.

Let all the bright places
introduce you to another day.
Finally in the intoxication that is my air
and the love that wove this heart,
I can say now is good.

I dance with in these eyes
but only for you.
And in the gutter of this weight I was.
Let me show you.
Maybe then you will understand
that love itself not be explained,
because the mind’s too tired to recognize these words.
They plague all but be the only purity
I ever knew.

You are the heart
that could never see
and I the fool
who knows nothing of capacity.

(Introduction from David Levithan’s Another Day)

If you have enjoyed this poem recommend and share it.

The next story on your list should be,

--

--

N C Luck
Let’s Destroy Everything, Shall We?

I don’t want to write something that you have never known, I want to write something that you have always known to show you that you are not alone.