A Fruitful Meeting

Zankrut Antani
Let the Pen Talk
Published in
6 min readJul 5, 2020

“Assiduous day after a calm weekend puts the mind into a juxtaposed dilemma. That is why I should keep on doing something even on the weekend, just to keep the pace.” I told myself while I was stuck in the well-known Monday evening Manhattan traffic.

Mobile beeped a notification. It seemed to be an office e-mail from the notification sound.

“Would check once I reach home.” I murmured with obvious negligence.

I reached and was pulling out keys from the pocket and to my surprise, Tracy opened the door.

“Hey, my Teddy Bear! You’re home!! ” Tracy hugged me and said those words which were idyllically soothing to me. It took all my traffic hustle away in a moment.

“It was a pleasant surprise for me, honey! I wasn’t expecting you to be home before me.” I told her with zest.

“Oh yes, Teddy. I felt I wanted to be at home early, so just executed the wish.” Tracy told with ease.

“That is so good baby!” I told eulogizing her move.

All of a sudden I got a thought to read the e-mail for which phone had beeped a notification.

“Ted,

I expect you to be at our London office to attend a crucial meeting. You need to report there at 8:00 GMT. Please plan accordingly. Sorry for the sudden request.

Best,
Smith.”

I was expecting this but not so instantaneous. I was structuring the sentence to tell Tracy about the trip I was going to make.

“Where do you need to go? When?” Tracy asked me straight away looking into my eyes.

I was bowled over by the way she knew me. I love this lady to the core.

“I need to be at the London office for a meeting which is at 8:00 GMT,” I told her.

“Oh, that means you should start here by 10 AM EST to have some breathing space tomorrow. You pack whatever you need and take rest; I’ll book your tickets. Also, I’ll drop you at the airport tomorrow.” Tracy told her with a lovey-dovey authenticity.

“Yes, baby. Sure. I don’t know what I would have been without you. ” I told her with a sense of completeness.

“Oh, common Teddy. Don’t be so cheesy.” She gave a typical “Tracy” reply.

— — — -

“Please fasten your seatbelts. We’re ready to fly. We are expecting to reach Heathrow by 5 PM EST; 10 PM GMT. Hope you will have a pleasant flight.” The flight attendant gave mundane instructions.

The plane took off without any problems (as expected). It was a long flight and I had done almost all the preparation which was required for the meeting. I looked all around. Everyone I saw seemed to have some or other worry or confusion on their face. I was getting bored and there was nothing much to do with me which prompted me to talk with the happy face who was sitting next to me.

“Hello, Sir! What book you’re reading? ” I canvassed a question. Though I consider myself awful in small-talks; but I had no other option of enhancing it the way I was doing right now — to try to talk with the happy-face stranger.

“Hello, young man. I am reading “The Existence of God by Richard Swinburne”. Good book. Explains and argues the proof of the existence of God.” The happy-face stranger said.

“Oh that is good Sir; Seems to be an interesting read,” I told to extend the conversation.

“Yes. It was referred to me by one of my friends. I enjoy reading the arguments about the one who created us.” The happy face stranger replied.

“Great sir. By the way, my name is Ted McConaughey” I extended my hand for a handshake. This person’s aura was majestic and captivating.

“Preston; Preston Cohen. Nice to meet you, Ted. So, what drove you to London?”The happy face stranger told and ended with an obvious question.

“I need to attend one business meeting tomorrow. What about you sir?” I asked.

“I had come to visit the Dean of the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine. I am a priest from London.” Preston told.

“Oh, that is noble sir. I am obliged to meet you. I feel this place has turned holier.” I told. The followed laughter sparkled the surrounding for a while.

“Now I got a point why you said earlier that it was good to read the arguments!” I told with curiosity.

“Oh, you the rationale being!” Preston told with amusement.

“Sir, if you don’t mind, I have a question for long. I have not got the correct person to answer that which is why I never asked anyone. But I feel you would be able to answer that correctly.” I felt that the acquisitive side of mine had taken over me.

“Sure Ted. I would love to answer if I can.” Preston told with a sense of acceptance.

“I observe what people say when they’re asked about their life’s crucial decisions. Most of them say that “God has designed this life for me.” Or if they’re in problem, they say “God is looking at me from somewhere. He’ll keep everything in place.” Or if they want something, they say, “Pray to God. He’ll fulfill your wishes.

I understand the devotion, love, and faith towards Almighty. But this does not make sense. The world almost has a population of over 7 billion. Everyone follows God. And being rationalist, I seriously doubt the working capability of God to serve the requests of so many living beings. Accepted that God is believed to have extreme powers, but I do not think God can follow so many lives so closely.”

I elaborated on my view which I had developed long back. I did not know what would be the response from the Priest. Will I be scolded? Will he term me an atheist despite not being that? Oh, should I have controlled myself? Many thoughts poured into my head and I was fervid to get the answer.

“Interesting question. But let me ask you a counter-question to answer your question.” Preston smiled and riddled me.

“Hmm, sure Sir.” I was amazed and befuddled by the reply I received.

“Can you tell me from where you think your thoughts are incepted from and how you can “decide”

what certain action you should do in order to do something?” Preston titillated me.

“Obviously, my mind Sir.” I gave an elevated response.

“Think a bit deeper Ted. You’ll get your answer on your own.” Preston told me.

“To be frank, I feel the mind is just a medium for thoughts to afloat. My heart drives my thoughts.” I tried to be clearer this time.

“Correct Ted. You know the perceived truth I believe. Now, do you believe your thoughts of the heart and your medium — mind; to be separate entities? ” Preston accepted my reply and raised a question.

“Yes. I think them to be. I act in that sense as well.” I iterated my perceived truth.

“I would contradict you here Ted. Rather being separate entities, they’re intermingled. One drives the other one. Now, what you think your heart is driven by? ” Preston again baffled me with a question.

Now, this was turning to be an intriguing conversation; probably a conversation of wisdom. A conversation about life may be.

“I do not know, Preston,” I told after a long pause.

“No Problem Ted. Let me tell you. This explanation would perhaps give an answer.

Everything we see around us runs with some logic and we can decode it with rationale. The same applies to our hearts.

The heart is driven by your conscience. Your conscience keeps on striking the heart what it should do and how it should do.

Your conscience is driven by your vivid memories which your mind has captured and the “karma” you did to achieve that.

Your vivid memories are also driven by something. They are driven by something we believe as being supernatural. They’re controlled by an instance of God within you.

So, God is not above you anywhere Ted. God is within you. God is driving everything that you do. God is telling you what you should do. God is in every particle you absorb. God is in everything you see. ”

“Oh My GOD! This is exceptional!!! Now I have got why everyone prays. Thank you Preston for your explanation. I feel enlighten within.” I replied with a sense of completeness.

“Please get ready for landing. Fasten your seatbelts.” Flight Attendant told.

Yes, I am doing that. Fastening the belief in me, for me. I murmured, within.

Originally published: November 2015

--

--