The evening I chose

Zankrut Antani
Let the Pen Talk
Published in
4 min readJul 5, 2020

Ted entered his most favorite place in the city, Central Park. The sun was setting down and the last rays of it were illuminating the pond. The surrounding was starting to take rest. The calmness of the surrounding was such that Ted was able to feel the harmonious talk of his mind with thy heart.

When such feeling overwhelms, we feel happy. And which drives “something” inside us to do what led us to feel happy. Ted thought, “This “harmonious happiness” is pulling me to come to Central Park every evening!”In between all these thoughts, he saw someone sitting on a bench where he always sat. He never had seen this person before here in the garden. He seemed in his late age, was wearing a grey suit and face covered with light whitish beard.

“Hello, Sir! I guess I am seeing you for the first time! Are you new to this place?” Ted asked the Gentleman with obvious curiosity.

“No Ted. I always come here as you do. I have always observed your presence here. You’re the frequent visitor of Central Park.” The gentleman answered Ted with a calm voice.

“Oh Yes, I’m Gentleman. It is quite amusing that you know my name. I don’t remember where possibly We’ve met, but I do not recall your identity. May I know your name? ” Ted questioned the Gentleman.

“I am Alfred Granger. I also come here to find peace. You always chose something where you find happiness. This is the place which I have chosen to come to feel happy.” The gentleman replied to Ted with the content.

“Yes, Alfred. You’re correct. ” Ted added affirmation.

“You know Ted, the whole purpose of life lies in finding the places where you feel happy. And we choose the different paths in our life according to our understanding, our competency and majorly our beliefs to find happiness.” Alfred told.

“Oh is it so Alfred? But I have always thought of moving with the flow and believed in destiny and kept the thought that it will lead to happiness. ” Ted passively questioned the explanation of Gentleman.

“No Ted. Though you always have moved with the flow, you have chosen to do so.” Alfred said.

“Oh how is that?” Ted demanded an explanation of the abstruse explanation of Alfred.

“Let me elaborate in a simpler way. When you were a kid, you chose to play soccer instead of baseball since you enjoyed it more. You chose to be an architect instead of being an engineer because it appealed to you more and you found it exciting, you chose to live in New York than to live in Chicago because you found it enthralling to spend time at Times square than to roam in the magnificent mile. You chose to watch Sci-fi movies more than Romantic movies because you felt more connected with those. It is all about the choices we make in our lives to find the path of happiness. And it is so dynamic that we keep finding amusing turns in between which gives the insight of a person who lies beneath your soul.” Alfred explained his perspective.

“You know what Alfred, actually you’re correct. I thought that I’m moving with the flow. But I have chosen this movement. So this literally means that I can choose to do whatever I want to. I can choose the path of happiness. I can drive my destiny.”Ted explained with ambushed.

“Yes, Ted. You can. That is why; we always know what we’re. But we never know what we may be. Do not bind yourself to anything. Keep your mind open like wings of a phoenix. You will always feel an invisible hand supporting you while you chose to do what your heart wants to. Keep Flying. Never rest. Never Cry. Keep exploring, keep choosing. ” Alfred explained the secret to Ted.

In all these conversations, Ted’s beautiful five-year-old daughter Rachel came running towards him and sat on his lap. She was showing him the favorite candy to him. Ted felt overjoyed by looking at her ringing smile while she was savoring the taste of that candy and kissed on her chicks. Tracy, love of his life came there also.

“Oh, Teddy! Where were you? Don’t you think we should go home now? ” Tracy asked with obvious worry.

“Oh yes. But let me first introduce to my friend, Alfred. ” Ted told.

“Where’s the Teddy? I don’t see him here. ” Tracy seemed confused.

Ted looked. Actually there wasn’t anyone sitting. Ted was surprised. “Where would Alfred have gone infraction of moments? Would he be my reflection of thoughts? Or a ghost? Or God himself?” He wondered.

Tracy was not able to figure out what Ted was thinking. “No worries baby. Gentleman might have left. Let us go. Now we should choose to go home, dear. It is appropriate according to time. ” Tracy invariably told what everything meant for Ted.

Chose what your heart says. Talk with your soul. It will always echo the real you. ”-LetThePenTalk.

Originally published: December 2014

--

--