Why do we watch movies?

Zankrut Antani
Let the Pen Talk
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2020

“Hey Man! How’re ya? How are your holidays goin’ man!” Mark casually walked up to Chitrang to showcase the (dis)interest and for a probable small talk in the bar playing loud pointless music.

“Hey yo! Good to catch ya here man! The holidays are just good dude. Up for a beer!?” Chitrang showed the necessary courtesy to a colleague.

“Man it’s strange to see ya! I always see your head down in that shitty laptop of yours in office and never talkin’ to anyone. Good to see ya here.” Mark extended.

Chitrang flickered a courtesy smile.

“Ya! you know, just to grab a drink! What got you here, bub?”

“Man I went out for a movie with ma girl and thereafter she told to land up here with some of her friends, you know! I don’t like to go to movies but my girl always presses for that. Don’t know why people watch movies!?”

Now, this had pressed the nerve of Chitrang. He gave a cringed smile.

“Oh, you don’t ask that question; Movies? They are like breathing to people like me. You know whatever comes to me; I just cannot live without watching movies. In fact, Movies give meaning to my futile existence. With the advent of information overflow, people around me have started fading and I don’t know why I even should listen and reply to their senseless bullshitting soulless conversations and their hopelessness.”

“Woh oh! This thing is triggering ya man! Calm down!” Mark cautioned.

“Oh Nopes. This way you might think that I’m an arrogant prick. But let me finish my point. You know, I get to see and explore the untouched avenues around us. Creators like Stanley Kubrick lets you travel through the evolution we have gone through with 2001 Space odyssey. In Interstellar, I travel with Cooper to the Gargantua and talk in Morse code with his daughter Murph. I travel to the past with Daniel Day-Lewis’ Lincoln portrayal and see how he fought for the abolishment of slavery and the 13th amendment. I play a spy in Bridge of spies with Rudolph Abel played by Mark Rylance and calmly answer the question about stress saying “would it help!?” I shatter my heart into pieces when I see Sabastian playing piano at the end of the movie and I see Mia sitting in front of him with her husband. I feel the mood swings Tyler Durden goes through in Fight club seeing the truth of life. I witness the horrors of war when I see Captain Miller explaining the war to Private Ryan and the killings around. I feel alive and feel “the want” to win the world when I hear the dialogue about death from Amarendra Bahubali in Bahubali. I feel the air of freedom Andy Dufresne when he comes out of a sewage pipe of Shawshank. I really want to see that totem in Inception to stop in the end and to see Dom’s character killing himself to go to Mal back because she was right all the time! I feel them. I live with them. I breathe them. The list is endless. Because the list is what defines my emotions.”

“Oh that was some inspiration man”

“And yes you know why that happens; Because, Movies matter. They make us explore the range of emotions we can feel. They make us inspire. They make us cringe. They make us believe. They make us go to those unwavering unexplored emotional colors which we might not see around. I see those characters complete. I see those characters believing. I empathize with them. It lets me relate to the void of faces. It helps me to see around things with all of its flaws and yet it makes me accepting them to its supreme beauty because somewhere in some frame I have felt it. It directly goes to the violet room of my soul. It makes me more human. It helps me fight with the anxieties and stresses I have and it helps me to connect with people around; One conversation at a time. ”

“Woooh. Good to know man. Cheers to your love for movies!”

“Alright Alright Alright! Cheers! For the love of frames!” Chitrang knocked on the table twice.

Originally published date: 27.12.17 on blogger

--

--