I hate my Valentine’s Day gift!

Pooja Bhayana
Let’s Barter
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

Yes, I love my SO. Yes, love life is amazing. But, I hate my Valentine’s gift! Oops.

Valentine’s Day is one that is definitely overhyped! It is just a overload of flowers, chocolates, pink and red, and everything heart shaped. But for some of us, it becomes a designated day to express your love and get some quality time with the SO (whoever it is bro, no judging!).

So I was evidently a little excited for this V Day. We had a nice dinner date at home planned out with some wine and cheese. But I was most looking forward to the gift. We’ve had a tradition of exchanging sweet little gifts on Valentines, and we both have mostly been on top of our game!

I had started dropping hints about a make up palette a few weeks before, just so that he knows what to buy. Let’s make life easy for the guy right?! So while I picked up (or so I think) on his hints about a specific game for his PS4, he quite didn’t pick up on mine. When the moment of opening the gift arrived, I had to fake happiness at the lace top in the bag (Lace top! Seriously? Am I from a girl band?).

I hate my Valentines Day gift!

Evidently the next day was spent thinking of what to do with this top. I did not like the option of selling it on used goods platform, it just felt so impersonal. And then came the light bulb moment. I searched Google for bartering platforms and came across Let’s Barter India. With their app, I was easily able to exchange my new top with a make up palette I wanted, in like hours. I searched for the barters around me and chatted with a girl in my neighbourhood, without sharing my number. I had a make up palette and she got a new top. All’s well that ends well!

PS. I did confess to my SO about my dislike for the top, and how I bartered it for something I liked. Frankly, he didn’t mind. #Goals right?!

Love Barter

*Names have been hidden to protect identity

--

--