How design constraints can drive creativity and focus

Responding to a challenge with self-reflection and procrastination

David Weisgerber
Condensed Consumption
2 min readOct 15, 2018

--

Not quite the vision statement I’m looking for. But not bad? Photo by Natalya on Unsplash

A few weeks ago, I met with the city manager in my agency seeking general advice. We chatted about my goals, I pitched a few projects I wanted to work on and all-in, we met for about 35 minutes.

Before I left his office, he challenged me to answer five, reflective questions about myself. He wanted me to share my answers with my department head and ultimately, him; the big boss.

So, naturally, since I did the work, I might as well post it on the internet.

The Five Questions

  1. What are my values and vision statement? [technically, two separate questions, but we’ll let him slide]
  2. What type of leader am I?
  3. Describe myself as a critical thinker.
  4. Describe myself as a creative thinker.
  5. What are my technical skills?

Not exactly my favorite color [blue]. This was going to take some thought.

After staring at a blank page for a few days [*cough* weeks *cough*] and having a lengthy, incoherent, multiple-paragraph vision statement as first draft. I needed to rethink this.

It was a place to start but the assignment felt too broad and open-ended, I needed to give myself parameters.

It is through mistakes that you actually can grow. You have to get bad in order to get good. — Paula Scher

I decided put the answers of these questions into a front and back tri-fold. This was in effort to drive brevity and clarity.

Plus, it let me endlessly tinker with the design of the tri-fold instead of the content of my answers. But I was reminded:

Design cannot rescue failed content. — Edward E. Tufte

I could have probably edited this forever, but sometimes you have to be done.

Below is what I shared with the bosses.

Values, Vision Statement and Technical Skills
Critical Thinking, Creative Thinking and Leadership Style.

More importantly than their reaction, the exercise helped clarify what I valued. It gave me confidence to trust these values and helped drive some difficult decisions.

It is illuminating how little you think about what you think until you think about it.

--

--