“How-to” Video Explainer Write-Up

The Production Process of M&M Chocolate Candy

Shayna Waltower
Let’s Get Civic-al
1 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

By Shayna Waltower

I wasn’t sure of a specific topic that I wanted to use for this assignment, and YouTube hadn’t really given me any new ideas. So I thought of some videos that I had seen. The show “How It’s Made” immediately popped into my head, and I knew that this informational series created to explain how various products are made would be a good source for these videos.

I searched “How It’s Made,” and several videos appeared. I saw that CNN had done a shorter rendition of the show on the topic of M&M’s. It was late at night, and I was fighting the midnight munchies, so I figured this video would be a good choice.

I liked this video, because it was short and concise. If you want to learn about how these tiny chocolate candies are made, this clip covers the basics.

This video was both informational and entertaining. It included a wide variety of shots of both the production equipment and the product itself. The use of narration was also a vital part in explaining the video.

In creating a video explainer, some important elements are to ensure that the video accurately covers information and incorporates pieces that are appealing to its viewers. This video accomplishes both.

--

--